Our Year in Love and Parties

Our Year in Love and Parties

by Karen Hattrup

Hardcover

$16.72 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.72, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, December 18

Overview

In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights of epic partying will see two teens through their highest highs and lowest lows over the course of one unforgettable year. Perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and Mary H.K. Choi!

Tucker knows that some relationships take work. With his best friend, Bobby, and his mom, everything is simple, steady. His dad, on the other hand, seems to only show up when he wants to bring Tucker down. Then there’s Erika Green, who comes back into his life, stirring up old feelings. A small part of him knows he shouldn’t get too attached during senior year. But a bigger part doesn’t want her to disappear again.

Erika from before the video loved to shock people. Now, she just wants to hole up in her quiet college life and leave the past where it belongs—in a dumpster fire. But then she reconnects with Tucker Campanelli. Erika can’t explain what it is about him. There’s just this undeniable connection between them, and she really doesn’t want to lose that feeling. Not yet.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062410238
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/08/2019
Pages: 368
Sales rank: 205,931
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Karen Hattrup grew up outside of Washington, DC, and now lives outside of Baltimore with her husband and two kids. She's been writing stories for as long as she can remember and formerly worked as a newspaper reporter. Frannie and Tru was her debut novel, and Our Year in Love and Parties is her second. She's kind of awkward at parties, but she does love cake, people-watching, and dancing with her friends.  

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Our Year in Love and Parties 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous 30 days ago
I LOVED THIS BOOK! The author brought the characters to life and brought me back to my youth. Kids today have so many things to worry about and this story will help them realize that they can survive. Great gift for your teenager!
KathyMacMillan 5 months ago
o be honest, I am not a party person. Whenever I see one of those rom-coms where people are dancing on tables or playing beer pong, I cringe – because the idea of being around a big group of people, most of them drunk, is not now and never has been my idea of fun. But Karen Hattrup’s new novel, Our Year in Love and Parties, goes far beyond the “party night” tropes of teen books and movies to explore the evolving relationship of its two main characters – the sensitive Tucker and the jaded Erika. It’s a clever device, to set the story up in parties on four nights throughout the year (end of summer, Christmas, spring, and the end of the school year), but by drawing on the ebb and flow of teenage lives, Hattrup’s sensitive portrayal goes much deeper than the calendar. Though Erika and Tucker’s relationship is the throughline of the story, we see it in context of the myriad other relationships swirling around the two of them – complicated family dynamics, friendships made and lost and repaired, romances and hookups and everything in between. (And Hattrup excels at creating lovable, memorable side characters who make me wish they each had a starring role in their own novels.) Like Hattrup’s debut, the excellent, lyrical Frannie and Tru, Our Year in Love and Parties captures the sense of fleeting magic in adolescence, when everything is changing but the possibilities are endless.
MarisaR 6 months ago
A 2019 favorite! I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of OUR YEAR IN LOVE AND PARTIES and it was everything I wanted it to be and more. Beautifully written. Character-driven. Swoony. Thoughtful. Great banter. Tucker and Erika are such well-drawn characters and I loved Hattrup's thoughful exploration of their lifechanging year.