Out of My Face

Out of My Face

by Micro-East Collective


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.


Out of My Face

The second CD from the shape-shifting ensemble Micro-East Collective, Out of My Face documents a one-time encounter between this improvising group and five members of the avant rock behemoth Doctor Nerve. Guitarist Nick Didkovsky, drummer Leo Ciesa, trumpeter Rob Henke, saxophonist Yves Duboin, and bass clarinetist Michael Lytle join a cast of musicians similar to the one featured on 062099. The Micro-East Collective's approach to improvisation resides in the use of scores and sets of directions, a method Didkovsky's outfit has adopted through the years and perfected on the CD Ereia. The merger comes out as a convincing success. Doctor Nerve's electric avant rock approach fused with Micro-East's acoustic structured improvisations. The music is closer to free form than rock, and Nerve fans may be disappointed that Didkovsky doesn't get a guitar solo spotlight -- but that would have been against the equity rule at the basis of such collectives. Highlights include "Out of My Face" (a Didkovsky composition), the collective improvisation "Determinant," and the noisy "Buried Textures." Out of My Face was recorded with two ambient microphones. The resulting mix sounds a bit soft (it lacks "oomph"), but the music on this CD is stronger and tighter than the one found on the band's first release (recorded only two months before this one).

Product Details

Release Date: 04/04/2000
Label: Umbrella Records
UPC: 0634457126022
catalogNumber: 25

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Micro-East Collective   Primary Artist
Michael Lytle   Bass Clarinet,Contrabass (Vocal),E-flat Clarinet
Ed Butler   Percussion
Nick Didkovsky   Guitar
Yves Duboin   Soprano Saxophone
Rob Henke   Trumpet
Leo Ciesa   Percussion
Chris Eubank   Cello
Corey Sims   Trumpet,Accordion,Alto Horn,Ocarina
Aaron Oliva   Double Bass
Bill McConaghy   Cornet,Horn,Slide Trumpet
Carrie Shull   Oboe
Walker Martin   Guitar
Greg Decker   Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Ian Davis   Percussion
Martha Bausch   Flute,Piano
Rich Robeson   Guitar,Shakuhachi
Jennifer Hancock   Piano
Mark Simonsen   Percussion,Vibes
David Jordan   Clarinet,Slide Whistle
Jef Brown   Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
David Morris   Tuba

Technical Credits

Chris Stamey   Engineer
Nick Didkovsky   Liner Notes
Bill Ellsworth   Artwork
Ian Davis   Liner Notes
David Jordan   Contributor

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews