Out of the Channel: The Exxon Valdez Oil Spill in Prince William Sound

Out of the Channel: The Exxon Valdez Oil Spill in Prince William Sound

Paperback(10TH ANNOTATED)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING


Out of the Channel: The Exxon Valdez Oil Spill in Prince William Sound by John Keeble

Ten years later, the March 25, 1989, Exxon Valdez oil spill in Prince William Sound remains the largest tanker spill in the history of North America and, in its devastating effects upon wildlife and habitat, arguably the most damaging tanker spill in the history of the world. The Tenth Anniversary Edition of Out of the Channel adds a new and full assessment of the permutations and twists of big money, big litigation, and "petroleum speak, " as well as an account of the billion-dollar civil settlement between Exxon, the U.S. Justice Department, and the State of Alaska. In this definitive book on the oil spill, all the primary concerns of the first edition, published in 1991, are updated with new material, including the heartening results of citizen pressure to improve oil-shipping procedures in Prince William Sound and to protect fragile habitat.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780910055536
Publisher: Eastern Washington University Press
Publication date: 03/28/1999
Edition description: 10TH ANNOTATED
Pages: 21
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.13(d)

About the Author

JOHN KEEBLE, novelist and non-fiction writer, is also the author of Crab Cannon, Mine (with Ransom Jeffrey), Yellowfish, and Broken Ground. He is a professor of Creative Writing at Eastern Washington University.

Table of Contents

Note on the Second Edition

Chapter 1: Intruders
Chapter 2: The Screens on the Stage
Chapter 3: The Channel
Chapter 4: The Imaginary Journey of Captain Joseph Hazelwood
Chapter 5: City Life
Chapter 6: Cordova
Chapter 7: Showtime
Chapter 8: The Tears of Science
Chapter 9: The Rapture of Machines
Chapter 10: The Rapture of Science

Chapter 11: Guests
Chapter 12: The Value of the Dead
Chapter 13: Seldovia
Chapter 14: The Truth About Oil
Chapter 15: Craps
Chapter 16: Masks
Chapter 17: No Road
Chapter 18: Ghosts
Conclusion: The Bubble Net

Selected Bibliography

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews