Pachelbel Canon, Albinoni Adagio & Other Baroque Melodies

Pachelbel Canon, Albinoni Adagio & Other Baroque Melodies

by Jean-François Paillard Chamber Orchestra


View All Available Formats & Editions

Product Details

Release Date: 07/01/1991
Label: Rca
UPC: 0090266546824
catalogNumber: 65468


  1. Adagio, for violin, strings & organ in G minor, T. Mi 26 (composed by Remo Giazotto; not by Albinoni)  (09:02)
  2. Canon and gigue, for 3 violins & continuo in D major, T. 337: Canon

    1. Canon  (06:07)
  3. Orchestral Suite No. 2 in B minor, BWV 1067: Minuet & Badinerie

    1. Minuet & Badinerie  (02:43)
  4. Concerto Grosso in G minor, Op.6/6, HWV 324: Musette

    1. Musette  (06:42)
  5. Piccolo (Flautino) Concerto, for piccolo (or recorder/flute), strings & continuo in A Minor, RV 445: Larghetto

    1. Larghetto  (02:54)
  6. Concerto for oboe, strings & continuo in D minor, SF. 935 (often transposed to C minor): Adagio

    1. Adagio  (04:21)
  7. Sarabande, Gigue & Badinerie ("Suite for Strings") (arranged by Ettore Pinelli): Badinerie & Gigue

    1. Badinerie & Gigue  (03:43)
  8. Cantata No. 140, "Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme," BWV 140 (BC A166): Wachet auf

    1. Wachet auf  (05:24)
  9. Cantata No. 147, "Herz und Mund und Tat und Leben," BWV 147 (BC A174): Jesus bleibet meine Freude

    1. Jesus bleibet meine Freude  (03:44)
  10. Violin Concerto, for violin, strings & continuo in A minor ("L'estro armonico" No. 6), Op. 3/6, RV 356: Allegro

    1. Allegro  (03:12)
  11. Adagio for oboe, cello & strings  (07:51)
  12. Tambourin, for harpsichord in E minor (Pièces de clavecin avec une méthode)  (03:31)
  13. Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major, BWV 1068: Air on the G String

    1. Air on the G String  (05:16)
  14. Concerto Grosso in D minor, Op.6/10, HWV 328: Gavotte

    1. Gavotte  (02:54)
  15. Trumpet Concerto in D major: Andante for strings

    1. Andante for strings  (03:19)
  16. The Prince of Denmark's March (Trumpet Voluntary in D major) for brass, winds, & percussion (or keyboard or trumpet & organ)  (02:18)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pachelbel Canon, Albinoni Adagio & Other Baroque Melodies 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
huhoerge39483 More than 1 year ago
The most scintillating of the pieces: the introductory Adagio by Albinoni and the classic Pachelbel Canon paint musical-emotional landscapes of pathos and of an innate nobility without artiface. The short pieces Minuet by Bach and the Andante for strings by Molter stand out as turning points in this cd which is filled to the brim with Baroque standbys as well as some new tunes. The kicker in this CD which you are most likely not able to find in other cds and worth this cd alone is the Adagio for Oboe, Cello and Strings by Zipoli--and arranged by F. Giovannnini. Paillard leads his orchestra weaving seamless tapestries of musical modes with a touch of the poetic. For those who like their Baroque to be infused with a little emotion and pathos, jollity and all the other human experiential palate in between--this is not a cd of the plain and objective---there is one emotion (or more) for every song. One hardly notices that time is passing when you put in the cd. A sure winner. (I worked at B&N before selling classical music).