by Cody Simpson


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



Discovered via YouTube covers of pop songs, it's pretty easy to tag Cody Simpson as the Australian Justin Bieber -- particularly as the two pop singers share a manager. Simpson started a steady climb from the Internet into the real world of pop stardom, culminating in the 2012 release of Paradise. Produced by a bevy of producers, including Dr. Luke, Paradise does indeed sound light and breezy, Cody ably surfing its gentle tides. He isn't a powerful presence but he's possibly a more versatile singer than Bieber, sounding as comfortable with sweetly strummed acoustics as he does with thumping (but not too insistent) club beats and offhand allusions to Rihanna. And this Paradise very rarely gets rocky -- everything is clean and polished, accentuating Simpson's boy-next-door personality. Whatever Simpson lacks in mischief or danger, he compensates in sweetness, something that's reflected throughout this album. Paradise doesn't demand attention, but that's part of the appeal of the album and Cody himself; this is amiable, ingratiating music with a cheerful spirit. At its core, it's almost a throwback to the days when teen idols didn't text, they just sang about puppy love.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/02/2012
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678824678
catalogNumber: 529802

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Cody Simpson   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Mitchum Chin   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Alex Dezen   Acoustic Guitar,Bass Guitar
Chris Morris   Electric Guitar
Dwayne "Supa Dups" Chin Quee   Drums
Taio Cruz   Vocals
Ava James   Vocals
Benny Steele   Percussion
Hayley Gene   Background Vocals
Nasri   Background Vocals
Trent Mazur   Guitar
Mike Freesh   Bass
Becky G   Vocals
Prestige Worldwide   Vocals

Technical Credits

John Ryan   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Joe West   Composer
Vincent Watson   Engineer
Emily Wright   Engineer,Vocal Producer
Mitchum Chin   Composer
Luke   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Colby O'Donis   Composer
Alex Dezen   Composer
Bonnie McKee   Composer
Dwayne "Supa Dups" Chin Quee   Arranger,Composer,Programming,Producer
Taio Cruz   Composer
Nick Bilardello   Art Direction
Adam Messinger   Composer,Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Nasri Atweh   Composer
Chris Stang   Marketing
Drew Pearson   Composer,Producer
Benny Steele   Engineer
Hayley Gene   Composer
Garrick Smith   Composer,Producer
Craig Paulsen   Composer
Bryan Nelson   Composer
Futuristics   Producer,Engineer
Chris "Tek" O'Ryan   Engineer,Vocal Producer
Ryan Marrone   Composer,Producer
Alex Schwartz   Composer
August Rigo   Composer
Michael Warren   Composer
Cody Simpson   Composer
Alex Heme Toval   Engineer
J.P. "The Specialist" Negrete   Engineer
Clint Gibbs   Engineer
Edwin "Lil Eddie" Serrano   Composer
Lukasz Gottwald   Composer
Joe Khajadourian   Composer
Cirkut   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Rob Gold   Art Manager
Nasri   Programming,Producer,Instrumentation
Nolan Lambroza   Composer,Programming,Instrumentation,Additional Production
Tyler Acord   Engineer
Trent Mazur   Additional Production
Mike Freesh   drum programming,Additional Production
Paul Wright   Composer
Jon Bellion   Composer
Jenn Decilveo   Composer
Jackson Michelsson   Composer
Fresh Good$   Producer
Daniel Zaidenstdt   Engineer
Hit Brothers   Producer
Rebbeca Marie Gomez   Composer
Matt Salinas   Composer
Jonathan Bellion   Producer
Henry Walter   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews