Parkinsong, Vol. 1: 38 Songs of Hope

Parkinsong, Vol. 1: 38 Songs of Hope



Parkinsong, Vol. 1: 38 Songs of Hope is a story of inspiration. Recorded in honor of Selma Litowitz, a retired high-school English teacher from Lawrence, NJ, this double-disc set showcases artists from subgenres of country and folk coming together to benefit the ParkinSong Foundation. Litowitz's son, Rob Litowitz, started this nonprofit organization in order to spread awareness about the disease. Mr. Litowitz's mother, who has bravely dealt with Parkinson's since 1991, was given a concert in her honor at her former school ten years after being stricken with the disease. Parkinsong, Vol. 1: 38 Songs of Hope was born from that tribute and several shows later. Artists such as Caitlin Cary, David Crosby and Graham Nash, Sara Hickman, Kim Richey, and Bonnie Raitt lend their songs to this touching tribute. Americana sweetheart Neko Case croons her way through "I Wish I Was the Moon," and the acoustic guitar lullaby of "Reason to Believe" from Kelly Willis is equally charming. Dave Alvin's high lonesome waltz "The Man in the Bed" is just one of the few tracks exclusively recorded for this collection. Raspy-voiced Steve Forbert, who had folk hits in the late '70s with "Romeo's Tune" and "Going Down to Laurel," shares his specially taped "It's a Shame, You Know," as do Little Pink with their contemporary folk lament "Miles From Nowhere." Utah Carol, a husband-wife duo from Chicago and a newcomer to the national music scene, make their proper debut with "Like You Used To." There's a little bit of everything on Parkinsong, Vol. 1: 38 Songs of Hope. It's not only a solid collection of crossover tracks that support a great cause, but a well-tailored selection suited for generations young and old.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/11/2004
Label: Megaforce
UPC: 0711574530229
catalogNumber: 31104

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Kelly Willis   Composer
Greg Brown   Composer
Catie Curtis   Composer
Eliza Gilkyson   Composer
Tom Russell   Composer
Dave Alvin   Composer
Steve Forbert   Composer
Sara Hickman   Composer,Producer
Robert Hunter   Composer
Chuck Prophet   Composer
Pete Sears   Composer
Barbara Keith   Composer
Kristen Hall   Composer
Dar Williams   Composer
Lucy Kaplansky   Composer
Mark Andes   Composer
Bill Bottrell   Composer
Jonatha Brooke   Composer
David Crosby   Composer
Alejandro Escovedo   Composer
Eric Lowen   Composer
Lloyd Maines   Composer,Producer
Dan Navarro   Composer
Fred Remmert   Engineer
Kim Richey   Composer
Emily Saliers   Composer
Tom Freund   Composer
Mike Daly   Composer
Dillon O'Brian   Composer
Amy Rigby   Composer
Neko Case   Composer
Jennifer Nobel   Composer
Ana Egge   Composer
Richard Litvin   Composer
Caitlin Cary   Composer
Florence Dore   Composer
Terri Hendrix   Composer
Elana Fremerman   Composer
Alice Peacock   Composer
Jen Chapin   Composer
Eric Brace   Composer
Mary Grace Battiata   Composer
Heyman Hoosier & Herman   Composer
Kat Maslich   Composer
Bill Thompson   Art Direction
Amy Farris   Composer
Rob Litowitz   Liner Notes
Doug Mindell   Cover Photo
Loren Minnick   Web Design
JinJa Davis   Composer
Grant Birkenbeuel   Composer
Cindy Kalmenson   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Parkinsong, Vol. 1: 38 Songs of Hope 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a great CD. I am a big fan of many of the artists & I get the added bonus of knowing that all $$'s go to Parkinson's Research. What can be better?