Parliament of Rooks: Haunting Brontë Country

Parliament of Rooks: Haunting Brontë Country

by Karen Perkins

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, November 1

Overview

Past and present collide in the home of the Brontë sisters in this engrossing and suspenseful dual-timeline novel.

1838 - Nine-year-old Harry hates working on the mill floor, and flees to the moors above Haworth whenever he can escape the deadly, thundering machinery. There he meets Emily Brontë, and a lifelong friendship is born. Trouble ensues when Harry marries, as Martha finds jealousy a hard demon to exorcise. The consequences are tragic.

2016 - Newly divorced, Verity is looking forward to her new life running a guest house in Haworth. She soon realises it is haunted - not only by the ghosts of her own past, but by those of Haworth. And Haworth's ghosts can be tenacious.

As Verity and her new beau, William, are caught up in Harry and Martha's battles, their own lives hang in the balance in a horrific fight between past and present.

---

Fans of Bella Ellis, Barbara Erskine and Stacey Halls will love this haunting timeslip novel moving between the harsh realities of village life in Emily Brontë's Haworth and present day.

---

#21 UK Kindle Store Bestseller

"I love your books!" Sunday Times Bestselling Author Rowan Coleman/Bella Ellis



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781910115787
Publisher: LionheART Publishing House
Publication date: 02/28/2017
Series: Ghosts of Haworth , #1
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 595,996
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.61(d)

About the Author

Karen Perkins is the author of the Yorkshire Ghost Stories, the Pendle Witch Short Stories and the Valkyrie Series of historical nautical fiction. Her fiction has appeared at the top of bestseller lists on both sides of the Atlantic, including the top 21 in the UK Kindle Store in 2018.

Her first Yorkshire Ghost Story - THE HAUNTING OF THORES-CROSS - won the Silver Medal for European Fiction in the prestigious 2015 Independent Publisher Book Awards in New York, whilst her Valkyrie novel, DEAD RECKONING, was long-listed in the 2011 MSLEXIA novel competition.

Originally a financial advisor, a sailing injury left Karen with a chronic pain condition (although she did take the European ladies title despite the injury!). Writing has given her a new lease of - and purpose to - life, and she is currently working on a sequel to Parliament of Rooks: Haunting Brontë Country, as well as the next Pendle Witch story.

Karen Perkins is a member of the Society of Authors, the Writers' Guild of Great Britain and the Horror Writers Association.

Customer Reviews