Parliament of Rooks: Haunting Brontë Country

Parliament of Rooks: Haunting Brontë Country

by Karen Perkins


View All Available Formats & Editions
Use Express Shipping for guaranteed delivery by December 24

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781910115787
Publisher: LionheART Publishing House
Publication date: 02/28/2017
Series: Ghosts of Haworth , #1
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 893,007
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.61(d)

About the Author

Karen Perkins is the author of seven fiction titles in the Valkyrie Series of Caribbean pirate adventures and the Yorkshire Ghosts Series. All of her fiction titles have appeared at the top of bestseller lists on both sides of the Atlantic, including the top 50 in the UK Kindle Store. Her first Yorkshire Ghost novel - The Haunting of Thores-Cross - won the silver medal for European fiction in the prestigious 2015 Independent Publisher Book Awards.

Karen's latest book, Parliament of Rooks is due to be released in early 2017, and will be her third novel in the Yorkshire Ghosts Series. Set in both modern-day and Victorian Haworth - the West Yorkshire home of Charlotte, Emily and Anne Brontë - Parliament of Rooks delves into the era of 'The Yorkshire Slavery'. Men, women and children were employed in the mills that clothed half the empire in cotton and finest worsted, often working sixteen hours a day with no provision for their safety or well-being.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Parliament of Rooks: Haunting Brontë Country 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
ReadersFavorite More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Melinda Hills for Readers' Favorite Talented author Karen Perkins tells the story of Verity who has just ended her marriage to a cheating, catfishing husband who just doesn’t get what he’s done - and that almost drives her to murder. In Parliament of Rooks, Verity begins picking up the pieces of her life in the small town of Haworth by buying what used to be the cottages of wool workers and turning them into a bed and breakfast. This is proving to be more difficult than she expected, though, as paranormal activity is rampant. Verity’s friend, Lara, knows about this type of thing and assures Verity that the spirits are not harmful, but events grow more serious after Verity begins a relationship with William and the rooks from the nearby parsonage and cemetery converge on the Rookery, breaking windows and invading Verity’s home. At what point is the past the past, or does it still affect the present? At least one thing is certain – friendship holds a power than can transcend any time or distance. Atmospheric and perfectly balanced between the past and present, Parliament of Rooks by Karen Perkins is a deeply moving and tremendously exciting story that holds your interest from the first page to the last. The dual tale of friendship and acceptance takes wonderful advantage of the interesting lives of the Brontë family and the conditions of the village in their lifetime, in contrast and comparison with challenges faced by modern adults with tempestuous and uncertain relationships. The writing is crisp with realistic dialogue and the settings are beautifully described in detail that delights the senses. The characters are certainly varied, playing their roles with authenticity, and the action is gripping, particularly with an interesting revelation near the end, while still providing some humor and light-hearted fun. Parliament of Rooks is a must-read for any fan of historical novels and romances, especially those with paranormal themes. Excellent story!