Paw Prints at Owl Cottage: The Heartwarming True Story of One Man and His Cats

Paw Prints at Owl Cottage: The Heartwarming True Story of One Man and His Cats

by Denis O'Connor
4.4 5

Hardcover

$16.66 $19.99 Save 17% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $19.99. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, August 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

Paw Prints at Owl Cottage: The Heartwarming True Story of One Man and His Cats by Denis O'Connor

The ideal book for fans of All Creatures Great and Small, this sweet and touching tale about the power of pets will touch the hearts of all who read it

Readers who fondly recall James Herriot's All Creatures Great and Small will applaud the second coming of this beloved author in Denis O'Connor, who charmed cat lovers everywhere with Paw Prints in the Moonlight. Now, in Paw Prints at Owl Cottage, O'Connor returns with another heartwarming and timeless tale of the power of pets.

When Denis and his wife Catherine return to Owl Cottage, their former home, only to find it in a dilapidated state, they decide to restore this charming house. But the memory of Denis's beloved cat, Toby Jug, still lingers on. On impulse he buys a Maine Coon Kitten, Pablo, who proves to be such a wonderful companion that he decides to buy three more and names them Carlos, Luis, and Max. Set against the wilds of the Northumbrian coast, Denis tenderly and humorously charts the ups and downs of life with his mischievous cats in this warm and touching tale.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780312577070
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 10/22/2013
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 756,779
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 7.40(h) x 0.88(d)

About the Author

DENIS O'CONNOR was born and raised in England. After retiring from a career as a psychologist, he decided to write Paw Prints at Owl Cottage, fulfilling the promise he made to Toby Jug years ago. Paw Prints in the Moonlight has been translated into Japanese, Italian, and Chinese. O'Connor lives in an eighteenth century cottage with his wife Catherine and two Maine Coon Cats named Luis and Max. When he's not writing, he spends his time gardening, bird watching, and listening to classical music.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Paw Prints at Owl Cottage: The Heartwarming True Story of One Man and His Cats 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
MasonCanyon More than 1 year ago
If you have ever shared your life with a cat, then PAW PRINTS AT OWL COTTAGE is a must read. This is the delightful memoir of Denis O’Connor and his devotion to four wondrous Maine Coon cats who shared his life. Each cat, in its own special way, help the author recover from the loss of his beloved cat, Toby Jug. O’Connor and his wife, Catherine, return to Owl Cottage where he had once lived with Toby Jug. While restoring the cottage, O’Connor was filled with memories of his faithful cat. At the suggestion of his wife, O’Connor decides to get another cat to help fill the void. Soon Pablo comes to live with them followed by Carlos, Luis and Max. O’Connor tells how each kitten created their own space in his life, as well as his heart. He tells of their adventures and the impact they made in his life. From a cat lover’s perspective, there will be tears of sorrow and joy found throughout this book. O’Connor beautifully describes how the felines became a part of his family and much more than just pets. His soulful expressions of loss, as well as the jubilation of day-to-day living will ring true for animal lovers, especially those caring for cats. While you may need a box of tissue handy when reading this, you’ll also find yourself laughing at the cats’ antics. Set against the wilds of the Northumbrian coast, PAW PRINTS AT OWL COTTAGE is a story of warmth and love. It’s an amusing and tender look at how cats and humans connect. FTC Full Disclosure - This book was sent to me by the author’s publicist in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although I gave Denis's first book 5 stars, this one warranted only 2. Not due to his prose, which is always lovely, but for the way he has chosen to raise his cats. There is more to responsible pet ownership than proper feeding, fresh water, lovely outings and leash training. The habit of allowing ones cat to roam at will invites tragedy (as it did in this book), puts wildlife in peril to a cat's natural instincts to hunt, and invites the ire of others who may not appreciate cats prowling about their ptoperties. Not a week passes that I fail to see a dead cat on the roadside, no doubt struck & killed during a nightly foray. In fall it's also radio collared hunting dogs who cross the road with the hunt lust throwing all caution to the wind. Sad. Perhaps if the author's cats had been kept at home, he could have enjoyed them longer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The jet black tom padded in, dark yellow eyes gleaming in the darkness. His left ear twitched, the white tip standing out from the rest of him.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ultra laid out ontop of the High-Rock. Her flank was a pure white and she had hazel eyes. <p> &infin UV &#1492
Anonymous More than 1 year ago