Paxton versus the Armada

Paxton versus the Armada

by Stanley Lombardo

Paperback

$22.95
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, May 31

Overview

In the tradition of Mark Twain's Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court and Edgar Rice Burroughs' Mars novels, medievalist Stanley Lombardo's Paxton versus the Armada delivers a tale of adventure, romance, and thought-challenging alternative history in the third installment of The Crosstime Adventures of Carter Paxton. Newly arrived in England after a time-volta of a century, Carter Paxton, his beautiful wife Lady Joanna, and their companions discover that the year is 1588 and the Spanish Armada will arrive in July. Upon their return to London, they meet swashbuckling playwright Christopher Marlowe, an agent in Doctor John Dee's intelligence bureau. Marlowe introduces the buffalo hunter to Doctor Dee, who challenges him and Joanna to prove they are who they claim to be; in an audience with the Queen, they convince the skeptical Elizabeth of their identity.
Meanwhile, Father Tranquillus searches for his descendants -- Edwina, Mistress of the Royal Arsenal, and Cædmon, herbalist and mediciner at Saint Waltrudis Paupers' Hospital. Upon entering the hospital, the poor, indigent patients acclaim the priest as "Saint" Tranquillus, to Edwina's chagrin and anger; however, Cædmon is more willing to accept their ancestor's identity. Off on his own errands, one-eyed, hard-drinking Captain Sir Ralph Oldcastle endeavors to get His Majesty's Ship Constitution and their prize Spanish galleon, the Santa Eulalia, released from impoundment and, furthermore, to locate a shipwright willing to construct Paxton's submerged rams - the first in the cowboy's proposed arsenal of weapons against the Armada.
At the Royal Arsenal, Paxton consults Edwina to help him construct an array of armaments ranging from Congreve rockets to Colt's marine mines, but the proposed weapon that astonishes the Mistress of the Arsenal is the Carter's "sky galleon" - an airship mounting rocket launchers and Gatling guns. Learning of Carter's plans, the Queen demands a sky galleon of her own, which she vows to captain with an all-woman crew.
With the Armada cruising up the English Channel, Marlowe's beloved Anastasia Petrovka stalked by a fanatic assassin of the Russian Orthodox Inquisition, and Joanna six months pregnant with the twins, Destiny and Gawayne, Paxton has his hands full. When Anastasia's former master, Count Anton Pretorius, arrives in search of her, Doctor Dee enlists his aid in conjuring a tempest to scatter the Spanish fleet and save England - but will any of them survive the Armada's suicidal assault on Tilbury to capture the English Queen?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781536844023
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 09/10/2016
Pages: 684
Product dimensions: 5.98(w) x 9.02(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

Stanley Lombardo comes from a long line of natural storytellers: his paternal grandfather was the village poet of Petra Prezzia, Sicily. Born in Buffalo, NY, the author holds a BA in English from SUNY Buffalo and a Ph.D. in Medieval Studies from Indiana University. Between times, Lombardo did a hitch in the U.S. Navy. He has written novels, short stories, poetry, and technical manuals, but his true love is screenplays. Lombardo teaches at the university level, where his specialties include film, screenwriting, Chaucer, and Shakespeare. Lombardo is single, with a nine-year-old son who gives every indication of carrying on the family tradition of storytelling. In his infrequent spare time, the author makes swords, armor, and arrows as well as various other artifacts. PAXTON VERSUS THE ARMADA is the third novel in The Crosstime Adventures of Carter Paxton: PAXTON AT BOSWORTH FIELD and PAXTON IN THE NEW WORLD are available on Amazon, both in print and Kindle formats.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews