Peaceful Easy Feeling: The Songs of Jack Tempchin

Peaceful Easy Feeling: The Songs of Jack Tempchin

by Jack Tempchin


$12.94 $13.99 Save 8% Current price is $12.94, Original price is $13.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, July 25 , Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Peaceful Easy Feeling: The Songs of Jack Tempchin

The idea is a good one, so good that it's surprising Jack Tempchin hasn't done it before: sit down and record his own versions of hits that other musicians had with his songs. The reason why Tempchin is doing this in 2017 and not, say, 1997, is that his friend and colleague Glenn Frey passed in early 2016, and the singer turned plenty of Tempchin tunes into smashes, either on his own or with the Eagles. So many of the 14 songs on Peaceful Easy Feeling: The Songs of Jack Tempchin are associated with Frey -- not just the title track but "The One You Love," "Already Gone," "Party Town," and "You Belong to the City" -- that it can sometimes play like a de facto tribute album to Tempchin's old friend, and that is part of its charm. Sometimes, Tempchin comes close to re-creating elements of the original recordings -- the keening sax line and icy sequenced drums of "You Belong to the City," the crunching six-strings of "Party Town," the sunset vibes of the title track -- but these versions are distinguished by his genial murmur, a crisp production, and heartfelt contributions by Janiva Magness, Chris Hillman, Herb Pedersen, and Rita Coolidge. The presence of these four musicians helps underscore that Peaceful Easy Feeling comes from a place of warmth, and that cozy, laid-back vibe helps accentuate the fine construction of Tempchin's songbook.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/25/2017
Label: Blue Elan Records
UPC: 0852091006726
catalogNumber: 1049
Rank: 22223

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jack Tempchin   Primary Artist,Vocals,Soloist
Chris Hillman   Bass,Mandolin,Background Vocals
Rita Coolidge   Vocals
Chris Garcia   Piano
Herb Pedersen   Dobro,Guitar,Background Vocals
Jerry Peterson   Saxophone
Janiva Magness   Vocals
Bernie Barlow   Background Vocals
Joel Piper   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Jack Tempchin   Composer
Duncan Cameron   Composer
Glenn Frey   Composer
Herb Pedersen   Producer
Robb Strandlund   Composer
Robert Fisher   Layout
Dave Darling   Additional Production
Frank Rosato   Engineer
Joel Piper   Programming,Producer,Engineer,Cover Photo
Warren Hughey   Poster Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews