Pearl (Dakotah Treasures Series #2)

Pearl (Dakotah Treasures Series #2)

by Lauraine Snelling
4.5 57

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.49 $6.99 Save 7% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $6.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now


Pearl (Dakotah Treasures Series #2) by Lauraine Snelling

Book 2 of Dakotah Treasures. Author Lauraine Snelling takes readers further forward in Ruby Torvald's story as Dove House becomes a well-known establishment. Ruby plays matchmaker between the lovely but hidden Pearl and the carpenter Soren, who longs to uncover the beauty in Pearl that seems to be damaged by a tragic childhood. Ruby's own heart is torn by loyalty to the major and a surprising new suitor. But when a disaster threatens their future, will these jewels of the prairie be forced to abandon their dreams for the security of the east?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781441203229
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 04/01/2004
Series: Dakotah Treasures
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 67,866
File size: 675 KB

About the Author

Lauraine Snelling is an award-winning author of over 30 books, both fiction and non fiction for adults and young adults. She has two horse series for young teen girls, the GOLDEN FILLY SERIES and HIGH HURDLES. Lauraine is also the author of the popular RED RIVER OF THE NORTH and RETURN TO RED RIVER series set in North Dakota in the past part of the 19th century.

Besides writing both books and articles, Lauraine teaches at writer's conferences across the country and has an active speaking career. She and husband Wayne have two grown sons, four grand dogs and live in the country where Lauraine can garden, sew, do crafts, cross stitch, enjoy her birds and eventually have a horse again.
Lauraine Snelling is the award-winning author of over 70 books, fiction and nonfiction, for adults and young adults. Her books have sold nearly 5 million copies. Besides writing books and articles, she teaches at writers' conferences across the country. She and her husband make their home in Tehachapi, California. Learn more at

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pearl (Dakotah Treasures Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 57 reviews.
clemmy More than 1 year ago
This book is set in the era where people were respectable and kept distance between themselves and others, so don't be surprised when there isn't scandal. This series is also based on Christian characters who believe that God's will will guide them. I enjoyed Pearl as a character because she is quiet, self-conscious, and an avid reader. This book also follows up on Ruby who is also an interesting woman who is raising her younger sister Opal. Another reason to respect these women is that they are not looking for a man, as women have always been wont to do; the men just sort of pop up. They have other things to take up their ample brain power - Pearl (teacher) & Ruby (hotel owner/manager).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't help but read the entire series. Usually, I read the first book of the series and move on to something else. The characters were lively and entertaining. I found myself drawn to them, wanting to find out more about American life in the late 1800's. Some of the story lines were serious, but nothing that made me want to shut the book and run to something lighter. It was refreshing to find a Christian book with characters that struggled with their faith in a "real" way.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Once again, Lauraine Snelling has wrote another great series about early North Dakota. I hope this isn't the end of the Dakotah Treasures. I recommend this book to anyone who likes historical fiction. Can't wait for the next one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ah, Aura City. x3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this. Really is nice, to be able to talk about your self. I LOVED Aura City. If you make anothe story after Bang!, male another story like that. <br> <p> ~<_>&xi&epsilon<_>n<_>&sigma<_>m
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I totally love this series. What a wonderful story and characters. When I read these stories I feel like I know these characters. They have wonderful personalities. I can't wait to read the next story. It was rather sad at the end though. Onto the next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lauraine Snelling has a new customer that will want every book she has written.
cathie35 More than 1 year ago
Actually there are 4 women, Ruby, Pearl, Opel and Amethyst. Each story different. I loved reading them in the order in which they were written.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A grey and red she pads in. "May I join."
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kcw0542 More than 1 year ago
Loved the series as a whole, but this book seemed to be more about Ruby and Opal from the first book, and not as much about Opal.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
On to the next in the series ! Cant wait!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this series especially since I only live a few miles away from the area it was wrote about. Can't wait to start reading #3.
Liter8ure More than 1 year ago
I am absolutely loving the Dakota Series. I enjoy reading about how the characters are growing, and I love how the characters go from book to book. They're entertaining, and you find yourself quickly drawn into their lives. And you find that they quickly take a place in your heart!   My only wish is that more time was spent on Ruby and Rand, but I'm hoping the third book covers more with the two of them.  Such a wonderful read! I would highly recommend!!! 
AnonymousAW More than 1 year ago
Really loved this book series.
princessbutterfly More than 1 year ago
This book is a great addition to the Dakotah Treasures Series. I enjoyed reading about a another strong woman searching for a life from outside the expected life for a woman during those early days. I want to read all the books written by Lauraine Snelling. She is a great author and her books take me to another time period in history that I wish I could have experienced myself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really held my interest. Would recommend all 4 books in this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the series good easy reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago