Perfect Remains: A gripping thriller that will leave you breathless (A DI Callanach Thriller, Book 1)

Perfect Remains: A gripping thriller that will leave you breathless (A DI Callanach Thriller, Book 1)

by Helen Fields

Paperback

$12.04 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.04, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 17?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Perfect Remains: A gripping thriller that will leave you breathless (A DI Callanach Thriller, Book 1) by Helen Fields

‘Must read!’ Closer‘I love, love, LOVE Perfect Remains!’ Reader review‘A superb debut!’ Reader reviewOn a remote Highland mountain, the body of Elaine Buxton is burning. All that will be left to identify the respected lawyer are her teeth and a fragment of clothing.In the concealed back room of a house in Edinburgh, the real Elaine Buxton screams into the darkness…Detective Inspector Luc Callanach has barely set foot in his new office when Elaine’s missing persons case is escalated to a murder investigation. Having left behind a promising career at Interpol, he’s eager to prove himself to his new team. But Edinburgh, he discovers, is a long way from Lyon, and Elaine’s killer has covered his tracks with meticulous care.It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes … The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined.Fans of Angela Marson, Mark Billingham and M. J. Aldridge will be gripped by this chilling journey into the mind of a troubled killer.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008282493
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
Publication date: 07/10/2018
Series: A DI Callanach Thriller Series , #1
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 229,545
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Helen Fields studied law at the University of East Anglia, then went on to the Inns of Court School of Law in London. After completing her pupillage, she joined chambers in Middle Temple where she practised criminal and family law for thirteen years. After her second child was born, Helen left the Bar.Together with her husband David, she runs a film production company, acting as script writer and producer. Perfect Remains is set in Scotland, where Helen feels most at one with the world. Helen and her husband now live in Los Angeles with their three children and two dogs.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Perfect Remains: A gripping thriller that will leave you breathless (A DI Callanach Thriller, Book 1) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous 10 months ago
The characters are compelling. The storyline is interesting and suspenseful. The crimes and investigations are intelligent with numerous twists that pulled this reader in for an enjoyable experience... This may be the first crime-thriller I've read in which the passages from the killer's point of view were a reasonable part of advancing the storyline. Well done and well written! Hope to see many more with Luc and his colleagues. --Books4Me
booklover- 8 months ago
This debut novel features DI Luc Callanach and his team. He's new to the area and new to the job. Being half French, half Scottish does not endear him to everyone on his team. He is eager to prove himself to his new team. He has barely found his new office when a missing person's case becomes a homicide. Elaine Buxton is found burned to a crisp. The only thing remaining that can identify her is a tooth and a shred of material not too far from her body. It’s not long before another successful woman is abducted from her doorstep, and Callanach finds himself in a race against the clock. Or so he believes … The real fate of the women will prove more twisted than he could have ever imagined. The killer/kidnapper is identified fairly early in the reading, but it doesn't take away anything from the story. This killer is smart, and stays at least one step ahead of the police during the investigation. He is evil, malicious, and the reason he does the things he does will take your breath away. Luc is a terrific character. I loved how the author wove his professional life with his personal life and the things that brought him to where he is now. His team has his back .. all except one who bears a grudge against Callanach and complains about him at every turn. His anger may send the investigation spiralling in a totally wrong direction. I liked how the characters interacted with each other and how they learn to work for one goal. This story is action packed, full of surprises and the ending left me totally surprised. This is definitely an author to watch. I look forward to reading the 2nd book in this series -- PERFECT SILENCE. Many thanks to the author / Avon Books / Edelweiss for the digital copy of this journey through the mind of a very troubled killer. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
RowingRabbit More than 1 year ago
Some books leave you feeling warm & fuzzy, some leave you sad or thoughtful. This book left me with palpitations & an irrational fear of dentures. Elaine Buxton is having a really bad day. You’d think being abducted by a mad man would be your worst nightmare come true. Wrong. Unfortunately he has a few…um…procedures planned as part of his scheme to convince everyone she is dead. Luc Callanach is having a marginally better day. He recently left a job with Interpol under a cloud & has surfaced as a DI in Edinburgh. Rumours are swirling & he’s not exactly being embraced by his new team. The fact that he doesn’t want to be there is not helping. He’s called about a body found in a burned out bothy in the Caimgorms. It’s not his jurisdiction but there’s a chance it could be missing Edinburgh lawyer Elaine Buxton. They can’t know it yet but he & his team are about to come up against a devious & meticulous killer. More women will be taken & more will die as the killer hides in plain sight. We know his identity early on & he’s just one the characters who take turns narrating the story. Others include members of Luc’s squad & his colleague DI Ava Turner. She’s a smart, hard working cop & one of the few to reach out & welcome Luc to the force. Initially he rebuffs her friendship but as the story progresses her warm & straight forward manner begins to thaw his cool, prickly demeanour. She’s got a difficult investigation of her own concerning abandoned babies & they bounce ideas off each other as they struggle to crack the cases. So here’s the heads up. This is not for the faint of heart. Our killer is one of the most frightening you’ll come across in fiction & there are some gruesome scenes. What elevates this book above others in the genre is smooth, self assured prose & the depth of the characters. Dialogue is crisp & lean & I particularly enjoyed the rapport between Ava & Luc. No worries….you won’t find any cheesy insta-lust scenarios here. These are mature, well defined characters who gradually forge a friendship based on commonality & mutual respect. Ava sparkles with intelligence & wit & I enjoyed her ability to loosen up the tightly wound Luc. Their conversations are full of welcome humour that helps balance out the rising tension surrounding the fate of the abducted women. There are plenty of side stories dealing with Luc’s past & other characters that keep this ticking along at a steady pace until you hit the 3/4 mark. Then it becomes a sprint to the finish. It’s flat out addictive, one of those books you really resent having to put down & I stayed up waaay too late simply because I had to know how it ended. If you like your thrillers scary & smart, this is a stand out entry in grit-lit. Can’t wait for “Perfect Prey” due out in late June which gives me time to get over….you know…the denture thing.