Pie Town

Pie Town

by Lynne Hinton
4.3 30

Paperback(Original)

$11.95 $13.99 Save 15% Current price is $11.95, Original price is $13.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

Pie Town by Lynne Hinton

“Lynne Hinton deftly pens an uplifting tale of hope, faith, and community.”
—Lori Wilde, New York Times bestselling author of The Welcome Home Garden Club

“Hinton’s writing style is similar to Eudora Welty’s: easy, conversational, down-home.”
Greensboro News & Record

Welcome to Pie Town! Bestselling author Lynne Hinton—who has delighted readers with her heartwarming tales of faith, food, and friendship—has cooked up a delectable treat for fans of Fannie Flagg, Whitney Otto, Kaye Gibbons, and Jan Karon’s Mitford books…as well as the dedicated readers of her own popular Hope Springs novels (Friendship Cake, Christmas Cake, et al). The first in a series centered around the inhabitants of a small New Mexico town once renowned for its homemade desserts, Pie Town is the touching and funny tale about the unexpected changes a sleepy little southwestern community undergoes following the arrival of a well-meaning but woefully unprepared priest and a young hitchhiker who looks like big trouble.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062045089
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/07/2011
Edition description: Original
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 798,940
Product dimensions: 7.82(w) x 5.38(h) x 0.89(d)

About the Author

A retreat leader and writing teacher, Lynne Hinton is the author of numerous novels including Pie Town, Wedding Cake, Christmas Cake, Friendship Cake, Hope Springs, and Forever Friends. She also writes a mystery series under the name Jackie Lynn. She lives in New Mexico.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pie Town 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
starr1017 More than 1 year ago
Pie Town was a very laid back, heartwarming read. I really enjoyed this book. If you like Fannie Flagg or Billie Letts' books, you will really enjoy Pie Town.
McGuffyAnn More than 1 year ago
Based on an actual place, Lynne Hinton creates another small town of wonderful characters that live in a unique area of the South-Western United States. Pie Town is a small desert town inhabited by a variety of people and cultures: Anglo, Hispanic and Native American. They live and support each other as community and as family, as well. Longtime residents, being close and very traditional, find it hard to accept and adapt to a new priest. In fact, takes a little handicapped boy to convince the town to accept Father Morris. Inevitably a tragedy strikes, compromising the calm, close community with pointing fingers and placing blame. Lynne Hinton does well to pull the three cultures in Pie Town together to present a portrait of small town New Mexico. It is both an enjoyable and entertaining novel.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Pie Town, New Mexico is a small melting pot in which resides three races intermingling as if everyone is family; this is especially so in support of wheelchair bound young Alex who suffers from spina bifida while his grandparents raise him. One thing the locals detest is change as tradition means a lot to the residents. Thus the townsfolk do not greet their new parish priest Father George Morris with friendship; especially since he brought a hitchhiking female Trina with him. However when Alex openly welcomes them, the townsfolk consider him a barometer of people do like wise. The welcome mat is removed when tragedy strikes that even an angel could not prevent; as the townsfolk hold Trina culpable. This is an engaging look at the three predominant subcultures that make New Mexico the Land of Enchantment. The lead triangle plus Alex's grandfather the sheriff are solid protagonists but the plot is thin and the direction straighter than the Bonneville Salt Flats. Still fans will enjoy Lynn Hinton's whimsical slice of life in the Southwest. Harriet Klausner
LaurieFW More than 1 year ago
This was an interesting read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im 15 in like ten days hbu
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
*I skateboard in*
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hello?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
mamadeeLS More than 1 year ago
The characters in this book will grab you right away. They are real, like one of your neighbors.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Entertaining.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey can i join here?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey whs up peoplez
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The one i truely loved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I called you a h o e ....sorry
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stuiped
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She holds her geart