Pieces of You

Pieces of You

by Mary Campisi

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Heartache. Betrayal. Forgiveness. Redemption. These are the hallmarks of bestselling author, Mary Campisi's novels, and she does it again with The Betrayed Trilogy. If you love romance and women's fiction, family dynamics, hope, and second chances, this trilogy has it all.

Will he risk his life and his heart for a chance at one true love? - Pieces of You

Quinn Burnes is a master of emotional detachment, from his successful career as a personal injury attorney to his strings of meaningless relationships with beautiful women who possess uneasy temperaments; a sure formula to keep his heart safe. Until he meets the mysterious 'Danielle' a woman with too many secrets who's on the run from the abusive, estranged husband she shot and may have killed. Danielle isn't like any woman he's ever met, but can he risk his heart for someone who's doing exactly what his mother did eighteen years ago? Someone who may ultimately leave him, just like his mother?

The Betrayed Trilogy:
Pieces of You, Book One
Secrets of You, Book Two
What's Left of Her-a novella, Book Three

Quinn moved toward the far end of the store where there were several rectangular cases housing a variety of jewels and jewelry. The more expensive pieces were in the smaller room in the back but he still liked to ease his way through each case. Just a simple cut could change the way a topaz sparkled in its setting, not as arresting as a black opal but there was a fluid beauty in the deep golden color unique to the topaz. Some nights as he watched Arianna shape metal into intricate designs, he had to clench his fists to keep from grabbing the torch and forming his own design.

Arianna was still with the customer, a middle-aged woman in spandex, and from the indecision on the woman's face, it could be awhile. Quinn decided to make his way to the studio and pour a whiskey while he waited. He didn't realize anyone was in the studio until he had his hand on the knob. That's when he saw her. Much of her face was obscured by huge goggles as she clutched a blow torch and bent over a piece of metal. He studied the long, lean frame, the black braid reaching down her back as she aimed the blow torch and a bright orange-blue flame spat out, illuminating a slice of pale skin.

The woman's slim fingers mesmerized him as she worked the torch with practiced skill, making him think of sex and lots of it. Who was she? Quinn clutched the doorknob, caught between desire to go to the woman and rip off the goggles so he could see her face and the equal need to stay right there, watching.

She leaned forward further and he could make out a swell of small breast beneath the black turtleneck sweater. They'd be round breasts, firm, full. He imagined her naked, the long waist, the slim hips . . . The woman turned off the blow torch, set it on the workbench and held up the metal she'd been soldering. His gaze fell to her lips. Full. Red. Perfect.

He turned the knob just as she disappeared behind a screened panel. What would he say when she returned? I like the way you work a blow torch? Maybe he wouldn't say anything, he'd pour a drink, no two, and go for the casual, Hi, I'm Quinn, Arianna's friend.

He waited. Three minutes, five, six. Finally, he opened the door and stepped inside, expecting the mystery woman to materialize from behind the partition. When she didn't, he edged toward the screen and looked behind it. A tiny hall snaked toward a door that led to the street. The woman was gone.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940149354245
Publisher: Mary Campisi Books, LLC
Publication date: 12/14/2013
Series: The Betrayed Trilogy , #1
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 335,987
File size: 405 KB

About the Author

Mary Campisi is the bestselling author of over 40 emotion-packed, romantic women’s fiction novels that center around hope, redemption, and second chances. Set in small towns, readers will live through the characters as they encounter, misfortune, disappointment, and challenges to find hope, support, wisdom, friendship and, in some cases, true love. Having grown up in a small town herself, this author gives a real sense of how people pull together to help others find their true destiny. Her stories will make you laugh and cry, but in the end, you’ll feel like you want to live in these towns, meet the residents for coffee or share a meal with them.

Mary’s Truth in Lies series, also known as the A Family Affair books, takes place in the Catskill Mountains and centers around the discovery of a man’s secret family that prompts the question, Which family is the real one? The continued success of this series is driven by readers wanting more and she’s created an equally compelling one with the Reunion Gap series.

Mary should have known she’d become a writer when at age thirteen she began changing the ending to all the books she read. It took several years and a number of jobs, including registered nurse, receptionist in a swanky hair salon, accounts payable clerk, and practice manager in an OB/GYN office, for her to rediscover writing. Enter a mouse-less computer, a floppy disk, and a dream large enough to fill a zip drive. The rest of the story lives on in every book she writes.

When she’s not working on her craft or following the lives of five adult children, Mary’s digging in the dirt with her flowers and herbs, cooking, reading, walking her rescue lab, Henry, or, on the perfect day, riding off into the sunset with her very own hero/husband on his Ultra Limited aka Harley.

If you would like to be notified when Mary has a new release, please sign up at http://www.marycampisi.com/book/book-release-mailing-list/

website: marycampisi.com
blog: marycampisi.com/blog/
twitter: twitter.com/#!/MaryCampisi
facebook facebook.com/marycampisibooks

Customer Reviews