The Pittsburgh Steelers: The Official Team History

The Pittsburgh Steelers: The Official Team History

by Abby Mendelson

Paperback(Fourth Edition)

$29.95 View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 1?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


The Pittsburgh Steelers: The Official Team History by Abby Mendelson

Here is the thundering account of a team whose heritage is characterized by the same rugged confidence and gritty determination displayed by their many fans through the years. Combining more than 300 photographs with riveting text, the fourth edition takes the reader from the founding of the franchise as the Pittsburgh Pirates in 1933 through the AFC Championship game in 2011. Meet the stars of the Steelers past such as Byron "Whizzer" White, rowdy Hall-of-Famer Johnny "Blood" McNally, "Mean" Joe Greene, Terry Bradshaw, and Franco Harris, as well as stars of today such as Ben Roethlisberger and Troy Polamalu. Rich with interviews from players and coaches past and present, The Pittsburgh Steelers is an essential keepsake for every true fan.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781589796683
Publisher: Taylor Trade Publishing
Publication date: 09/16/2011
Edition description: Fourth Edition
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 667,905
Product dimensions: 8.40(w) x 10.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Abby Mendelson is an award-winning writer who covered the Steelers in the 1970s. In addition to writing countless magazine and newspaper articles, he has contributed to Pittsburgh: Fulfilling Its Destiny and Pittsburgh Characters. His book Pittsburgh: A Place in Time, about local neighborhoods, is now in a second edition. Aside from publishing two novels set in Pittsburgh, he has written the histories of Pressley Ridge Schools and Holy Family Institute, both Pittsburgh institutions. His wife and three children are all Pittsburgh natives.

Table of Contents

1 Acknowledgments
2 Foreword
3 Introduction
4 Chapter 1. Father and Son: Art and Dan Rooney
5 Chapter 2. "I Always Hated to Lose": The Early Years
6 Chapter 3. Driven to Succeed: Chuck Noll and Bill Cowher
7 Chapter 4. Not to Be Denied: A Man Named Joe
8 Chapter 5. Dawn of a New Era: The Steel Curtain, et al.
9 Chapter 6. Entering the 1990s: Renaissance II
10 Chapter 7. From the Terrible Towels to Blitzburgh: The Fans
11 Chapter 8. A New Millennium, A New Home: The Quest for a Championship
12 Records and Statistics

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews