Plan D

Plan D

by Simon Urban

NOOK Book(eBook)

$11.99
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Plan D by Simon Urban

Imagine a world in which the Berlin Wall never fell. A modern-day Cold War thriller: Robert Harris's Fatherland meets John le Carré's The Spy Who Came in from the Cold.
     October 2011. While West Berlin enjoys all the trappings of capitalism, on the crowded, polluted, Eastern side of the Wall, the GDR is facing bankruptcy. The ailing government's only hope lies in economic talks with the West, but then an ally of the GDR'’s chairman is found murdered — and all the clues suggest that his killer came from within the Stasi. 
     Detective Martin Wegener is assigned to the case, but, with the future of East Germany hanging over him, Wegener must work with the West German police if he is to find the killer, even if it means investigating the Stasi themselves. It is a journey that will take him from Stasi meeting rooms to secret prisons as he begins to unravel the identity of both victim and killer, and the meaning of the mysterious Plan D.
     Plan D is a gripping thriller and a thought-provoking alternative history in the vein of Robert Harris' Fatherland and John le Carré's The Spy Who Came in from the Cold.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9788425352201
Publisher: Penguin Random House Grupo Editorial España
Publication date: 02/20/2014
Sold by: PENGUIN RANDOM HOUSE GRUPO EDITORIAL
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 675 KB

About the Author

Simon Urban was born in Hagen in 1975. He studied German literature at the University of Munster, and creative writing at the Deutsches Literaturinstitut in Leipzig, and his short stories have earned him numerous prizes. He lives in Hamburg and Techau (East Holstein) and currently works as a copywriter for a leading German creative agency.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

 • "A genuine page turner. But it's also a book about the nature of dictatorships. It shows why dictatorship is possible, how dictatorship is done and what it does to people." —Juli Zeh

EBOOK COMMENTARY

 • "A genuine page turner. But it's also a book about the nature of dictatorships. It shows why dictatorship is possible, how dictatorship is done and what it does to people." —Juli Zeh

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews