Platinum Collection

Platinum Collection

by Eddie RabbittEddie Rabbitt


$9.56 $9.99 Save 4% Current price is $9.56, Original price is $9.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19


Perhaps it's due, as Gary Wallington's liner notes state, to territory and estate restrictions that the Eddie Rabbitt volume in the Rhino Platinum Collection is missing one of his essential hits. Though "Step by Step" appeared on the 1985 CD titled #1's, which cross-licensed material from Rabbitt's Warner, RCA and Curb years, it was before the singer and songwriter passed away; he died in 1998. What is here are 22 excellent tracks with nary a filler in the bunch. Of course it opens with "I Love a Rainy Night," and continues through so many of the hits we associate with him, from "Drinkin' My Baby (Off My Mind)," "Kentucky Rain" (he wrote it), "Suspicions," "Drivin' My Life Away," "Song of Ireland," "We Can't Go on Living Like This," "Hearts on Fire," and "Every Which Way but Loose." But the sound of this compilation with its remastered cuts is easily the best one out there. Like Ronnie Milsap, Eddie Rabbitt (yes, his real name) transcended the limits of Nashville and country music. In fact, he and Milsap extended its reach into the mainstream pop charts in the '70s, and this collection, which covers the years 1975-1980 when he left for RCA, is the period immediately preceding and just after Urban Cowboy. Rabbitt's music was far outside the outlaw country of Willie Nelson and Waylon Jennings, but he helped to usher in an new era of crossover chart success not only for himself but for other performers like Lacy J. Dalton and Gail Davies, among others. The New York-born, New Jersey-raised Rabbitt would have been right in sync with the performers of the 21st century, given his love of rock & roll and his knack for delivering uncanny hooks with his writing partner Even Stevens. At 66 minutes, this is a killer collection that may be missing a few cuts, but it provides an excellent introduction and great listening nonetheless.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/24/2006
Label: Rhino/Wea Uk
UPC: 0081227404826
catalogNumber: 274048
Rank: 21243


  1. I Love a Rainy Night
  2. Drinkin' My Baby (Off My Mind)
  3. Kentucky Rain
  4. Rocky Mountain Music
  5. Two Dollars in the Jukebox
  6. I Can't Help Myself
  7. Hearts on Fire
  8. You Don't Love Me Anymore
  9. I Just Want to Love You
  10. Every Which Way But Loose
  11. Suspicions
  12. Pour Me Another Tequila
  13. Drivin' My Life Away
  14. Nothing Like Falling in Love
  15. Is There a Country Song on the Jukebox
  16. Song of Ireland
  17. I Can't Get This Ring off My Finger
  18. Could You Love a Poor Boy Dolly
  19. Pure Love
  20. Amazing Love
  21. We Can't Go on Living Like This
  22. Plain as the Pain on My Face

Album Credits

Customer Reviews