Buy One, Get One 50% Off Our Monthly Picks!
Shop Now
Play the Man: Becoming the Man God Created You to Be

Play the Man: Becoming the Man God Created You to Be

by Mark Batterson


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 1 week


Somewhere along the way, our culture lost its definition of manhood, leaving generations of men and men-to-be confused about their roles, responsibilities, relationships, and the reason God made them men. It's into this "no man's land" that New York Times bestselling author Mark Batterson declares his mantra for manhood: play the man.

In this inspiring call to something greater, he helps men understand what it means to be a man of God by unveiling seven virtues of manhood. Mark shares inspiring stories of manhood, including the true story of the hero and martyr Polycarp, who first heard the voice from heaven say, "Play the man." Mark couples those stories with practical ideas about how to disciple the next generation of men. This is more than a book; it's a movement of men who will settle for nothing less than fulfilling their highest calling to be the man and the father God has destined them to be. Play the man. Make the man.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780801018985
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 05/02/2017
Pages: 224
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.60(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Mark Batterson is the New York Times bestselling author of The Circle Maker, The Grave Robber, A Trip around the Sun, and If. He is the lead pastor of National Community Church, one church with eight campuses in Washington, DC. Mark has a doctor of ministry degree from Regent University and lives on Capitol Hill with his wife, Lora, and their three children. Learn more at

Table of Contents

Introduction 7

Part 1 Play the Man: The Seven Virtues

1 Tough as Nails 21

2 A Gentleman and a Scholar 37

3 Unbroken 61

4 The Three-Headed Dragon 79

5 Sockdolager 99

6 Born for the Storm 119

7 Call of Duty 135

Part 2 Make the Man: The Rite of Passage

8 No Man's Land 155

9 The Discipleship Covenant 167

10 The Rite of Passage 185

Epilogue 199

Notes 201

Customer Reviews