by Nick Curran


$15.65 $16.99 Save 8% Current price is $15.65, Original price is $16.99. You Save 8%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.



Nick Curran's second album for Blind Pig Records features more of the retro-R&B that helped nab him the 2004 W.C. Handy Award for Best New Artist Debut. Once again, guitarist/vocalist Curran, drummer Damien Llanes, and bassist Preston Hubbard deliver an impressive old-school blues album that should catch newcomers off guard as well as please longtime fans. Showcasing a slightly harder edge à la Bee Houston, Player! flows nicely between uptempo shouters, slow and dirty ballads, and swing numbers. To these ends, Curran rips into the Little Richard speedball "Heeby Jeebies," does what he did for the Sonics' "Shot Down" to the Stooges' "No Fun," and outshouts Wynonie Harris on "Down Boy Down." It's Curran's originals, though, that usually make the biggest impression, and on that score Player! features some of his best. Notably, the title track is a rambunctious ass-mover that sticks in your ear and "Come Back" features Curran crooning against string backgrounds. Similarly, "Leavin'" is a slow shuffle with a nice twangy melody and "The Groovy Jam" finds Curran delving into Tiny Grimes-style rockin' swing with devastating charm. One of Curran's most diverse albums to date, Player! also features stellar performances by harmonica player Kim Wilson, guitarist David Leroy Biller, saxophonists John Doyle and Paul Klemperer, and Roomful of Blues' Providence Horns.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/29/2004
Label: Blind Pig
UPC: 0019148509122
catalogNumber: 5091
Rank: 84154

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nick Curran   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Kim Wilson   Harmonica
John Abrahamsen   Trumpet,Group Member
Gordon "Sax" Beadle   Tenor Saxophone,Group Member
John Doyle   Tenor Saxophone
Preston Hubbard   Vocals,Double Bass,String Bass,Group Member
Doug James   Baritone Saxophone,Group Member
Paul Klemperer   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Riley Osbourne   Piano
Carl Querfurth   Trombone,Group Member
Eamon McLoughlin   Strings
Damien Llanes   Drums,Vocals,Group Member
David Leroy Biller   Guitar
Jonathan Doyle   Tenor Saxophone
Earmon McLauglin   Strings
Providence Horns   Ensemble

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Iggy Pop   Composer
Duke Robillard   Engineer
Ron Asheton   Composer
Scott Asheton   Composer
Gordon "Sax" Beadle   Horn Arrangements
Henry Glover   Composer
Don Robey   Composer
Aaron Walker   Composer
Dave Biller   String Arrangements
John Marascalco   Composer
Fred Weismantel   Composer
George Brainard   Cover Photo
Billy Horton   Producer,Audio Production
Nick Curran   Composer
Don O.   Tray Photo
Dave Alexander   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews