Player One: What Is to Become of Us

Player One: What Is to Become of Us

by Douglas Coupland

Paperback

$15.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 18?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Player One: What Is to Become of Us by Douglas Coupland

International bestselling author Douglas Coupland delivers a real-time, five-hour story set in an airport cocktail lounge during a global disaster. Five disparate people are trapped inside: Karen, a single mother waiting for her online date; Rick, the down-on-his-luck airport lounge bartender; Luke, a pastor on the run; Rachel, a cool Hitchcock blonde incapable of true human contact; and finally a mysterious voice known as Player One. Slowly, each reveals the truth about themselves while the world as they know it comes to an end.
In the tradition of Kurt Vonnegut and J. G. Ballard, Coupland explores the modern crises of time, human identity, society, religion, and the afterlife. The book asks as many questions as it answers, and readers will leave the story with no doubt that we are in a new phase of existence as a species — and that there is no turning back.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780887849688
Publisher: House of Anansi Press
Publication date: 10/01/2010
Series: CBC Massey Lecture Series
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.02(w) x 7.88(h) x 0.65(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Player One: What Is to Become of Us 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed Douglas Coupland books in the past, but this one didn't really keep my attention. I don't think any of the themes here were new for Coupland and I've enjoyed them more in earlier works... it actually felt a little recycled.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
C
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
talk19 More than 1 year ago
We are all losing control of life. Get it back on track.