The Plays, Screenplays and Films of David Mamet

The Plays, Screenplays and Films of David Mamet

by Steven Price


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, July 22


David Mamet is arguably the most important living American playwright. This Guide provides an up-to-date study of the key criticism on the full range of Mamet's work. It engages with his work in film as well as in the theatre, offering a synoptic overview of, and critical commentary on, the scholarly criticism of each play, screenplay or film.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780230555358
Publisher: Macmillan Education UK
Publication date: 09/15/2008
Series: Readers' Guides to Essential Criticism
Edition description: 2008
Pages: 192
Sales rank: 836,642
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.40(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

STEVEN PRICE is Lecturer in English at the University of Wales, Bangor, UK.

Table of Contents

Introduction.- Early Plays: Lakeboat (1970), The Duck Variations (1972), and Sexual Perversity in Chicago (1974).- American Buffalo (1975).- A Life in the Theatre (1977), The Water Engine (1977), Mr Happiness (1977).- Other 1970s Plays: The Woods (1977), Reunion (1976), Dark Pony (1977), Children's Plays, Squirrels (1974), Marranos (1975), Lone Canoe (1979).- The Screenplays, 1981-9:The Postman Always Rings Twice (1981), The Verdict (1982), and The Untouchables (1987), We're No Angels (1989).- Edmond (1982).- Glengarry Glen Ross (1983).- Prairie du Chien (1978) and The Shawl (1985).- House of Games (1987).- Speed-the-Plow (1988).- Things Change (1988).- The 'Bobby Gould' Plays (c.1989).- Homicide (1991).- Oleanna (1992).- The Cryptogram (1994).- The Spanish Prisoner (1997), The Edge (1997), Wag the Dog (1997).- The Winslow Boy (1999) and After.- Conclusion.- Notes.- Select Bibliography.- Index.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews