Please Don't Go Before I Get Better

Please Don't Go Before I Get Better

by Madisen Kuhn

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Discover this exquisite poetry and prose collection about the pains of growing up from the popular millennial Instagram poet, perfect for fans of Amanda Lovelace and Rupi Kaur.

Following her breakout debut Eighteen Years, poet Madisen Kuhn is thrilled to share this intimate portrait of a young woman navigating early adulthood and leaving her teenage years behind.

Chronicling the complexities, joys, and challenges of this transitional phase of life, Please Don’t Go Before I Get Better is a powerful, deeply affecting work that pierces your heart with its refreshing candor and vulnerability. A poignant exploration of self-image, self-discovery, and self-reflection, this anthology brilliantly captures the universal experience of growing up, and you are bound to find yourself reflected in these glimmering pages.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781501196829
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 05/01/2018
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 757,459
File size: 8 MB

About the Author

Madisen Kuhn is a writer living in Charlottesville, Virginia. She likes to explore topics of identity, belonging, sexuality, and mental illness in her work. In 2015, she self-published Eighteen Years, a collection of over 200 poems. She is currently pursuing a BFA in Studio and Digital Arts.

Table of Contents

Rough draft 1

Sleep talk 3

Sunday, April 23rd 5

Landmark 7

Magnets 9

Alaska 11

When i want to be on your team 13

Irises 15

Astronomy club 17

People over places 19

Half-awake 21

I was happy 23

Nosferatu 27

Beginnings always seem better through rose-tinted sunnies 29

She would want you to 33

Beautiful alone 35

My first kiss 37

Rest 39

P.s, 41

June 43

Forget-me-not 45

Gap 47

The first year 49

Philadelphia 51

Disciples 53

Better times 55

Hurry up, we don't have time to worry 57

As long as i don't stop living 59

A soft summer afternoon 61

Knots like pretzels 63

A sorry sort of snake 65

Slamming doors 67

Anhedonia 69

Bathroom mirror pep talk 71

A beautiful poem 73

A shattered glass 75

Shower 77

Pure 79

October 81

Subtlety 83

Your twenties & stability: a paradox 85

Agape 87

Things that remind me of delaware 89

If i hadn't been moving so quickly 91

Emma 93

Courage isn't fearless 95

I want you to cry, i want you to kiss me 97

Movement 99

Bed of roses 101

Happiness: you have to try 103

Naked 105

Sufficiency 107

Home 109

Tokyo 111

Please, please, please 113

Lover, rescuer 115

Dryer sheets 117

Attach 119

Commit 121

Collapse 123

Piano songs 125

Liability 127

September 129

Post-breakup treks 131

Antidepressants 133

The guilt of indifference 135

Remember all the poems i wrote about him? 137

Blue tang fish 139

To those who believe that love isn't real 141

Los angeles 143

Two months 145

Move slowly 147

Neglect 149

Shoshana 151

Kindling 153

To my past muses 155

Forgotten 157

21 159

Growing up 161

The equinox 163

Coda 165

Afterword 187

Acknowledgments 191

Customer Reviews