by Tom Landa & The Paperboys

Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



Tom Landa and the Paperboys are a curious combination of Celtic and bluegrass with a healthy dose of rock & roll thrown in. "Le Muton Noir" is a straight, lively Celtic instrumental, featuring bright whistle playing, while "Mary" is a roots rocker complete with electric guitar and pedal steel. Call it free form, but it works. Perhaps it is the guiding vision of singer/songwriter Tom Landa that connects the themes and musical styles together. The album's title, Postcards, also lets the listener know that each of these songs is an individual "postcard," sent by the band from a different region of the globe. Landa receives full support from fiddler Shannon Saunders, flute and whistle player Geoffrey Kelly, and bassist/banjoist Cam Salay. The band is augmented by a multitude of guests, including Brazilian guitarist Celso Machado and accordionist Doug Schmidt. The variety of this material can take some real twists, as when Landa sings "Santiago a Sevilla" and "Cantares" in Spanish. This stylistic oddity-Joe Ely gone Celtic-makes a little more sense when one learns that Landa grew up in Mexico. The band's bluegrass side is exposed on "Goodbye," complete with banjo picking and some nice harmony on the chorus. Postcards is the band's third recording, and its first for Red House. The Paperboys' creative crossing of boarders should provide Celtic and roots fans with something a little different, something less typical to broaden their own boundaries.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/20/2007
Label: Stony Plain Music
UPC: 0772532126427
catalogNumber: 1264

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Tom Landa & The Paperboys   Primary Artist
Sal Ferreras   Percussion,Conga,Timbales
Danny Greenspoon   Dobro,Guitar
Richard Hopkins   Keyboards
Geoff Kelly   Flute,Vocals,Human Whistle
Rick Lazar   Percussion,Tambourine
Steve Mitchell   Guitar,Vocals
Chris Quinn   Banjo
Randall Stoll   Drums
John Webster   Clavinet
Finn Manniche   Cello
Rich Hopkins   Keyboards
Celso Machado   Guitar,Percussion,Flamenco Guitar
Daniel Whiteley   Mandolin
Jenny Whiteley   Vocals
Paperboys   Bouzouki,Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals
Doug Schmidt   Accordion
Victor Bateman   Double Bass
Anna Schaad   Fiddle,Violin
Jesse Zubot   Fiddle,Mandolin
John Korsrud   Trumpet
Alejandro Nunez   Background Vocals
Tom Landa   Bouzouki,Guitar,Mandolin,Piano,Vocals,Wurlitzer
Hanz Araki   Human Whistle
Palma Bjarnason   Palmas
Karen Buthroyd   Palmas
Shelly Campbell   Vocals
Tim Fanning   Flute,uillean pipes
Tobin Frank   Bass
Charlie Hase   Pedal Steel Guitar
MarlowHolder   Bass
Paul Lawton   Drums,Background Vocals
Kris MacFarlane   Guitar,Drums,Vocals
Elliot Polsky   Conga,Tambourine,Djembe,Shaker
Cam Salay   Banjo,Bass
Steve C. Mitchell   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Soloist,Vocal Harmony
Shelley Campbell   Vocals
Steve Dawson   Dobro
Alejandra Nunez   Background Vocals
Dan Whiteley   Mandolin
Shannon Saunders   Fiddle,Violin
Steve Mitchell   Acoustic Guitar

Technical Credits

Danny Greenspoon   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Geoff Kelly   Audio Production
Kurt Neumann   Composer
John Webster   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Paperboys   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Executive Producer
Doug Schmidt   Composer
Tom Shannon   Producer
Pete Wonsiak   Engineer
Travis Saunders   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Tom Landa   Arranger,Programming,Producer,Executive Producer,Audio Production
Hanz Araki   Whistle
Palma Bjarnason   Contributor
Karen Buthroyd   Contributor
Stefano Piccone   Artwork
Sam Llanas   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews