The Potato Chip Puzzles: The Puzzling World of Winston Breen

The Potato Chip Puzzles: The Puzzling World of Winston Breen

by Eric Berlin
4.1 36

Paperback

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, September 27 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.

Overview

The Potato Chip Puzzles: The Puzzling World of Winston Breen by Eric Berlin

When a local potato chip tycoon invites area kids to an all-day puzzle hunt, Winston Breen is psyched. But it turns out the day is not all fun and games. Their teacher is being overly competitive, the puzzles are hard (even for Winston), and someone in the contest is playing dirty in order to win the fifty-thousand-dollar grand prize! Trying to stop the mystery cheater before it’s too late takes an already tough challenge to a whole new level. . . .

Perfect for fans of The Westing Game, exciting mysteries, and, of course, puzzles!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780142416372
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date: 05/13/2010
Series: Puzzling World Winston Breen Series
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 291,249
Product dimensions: 7.94(w) x 5.14(h) x 0.71(d)
Lexile: 650L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Eric Berlin creates puzzles for all ages, from kids to adults (his crosswords appear often in The New York Times). He is a member of the National Puzzlers' League and enjoys creating puzzle events for schools and other groups. He lives in Milford, Connecticut, with his wife and two children.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Potato Chip Puzzles 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
NOOK12 More than 1 year ago
This book was the best I finished it in 2 days and on the first night I didn't go to bed till 11:00pm. I ordered the 1st book I'am going to see how that is :)
shaylynn gruenberg More than 1 year ago
This book is filled with suspense creativity and of course........puzzles. Not kidding theres actual puzzles throughout the book and extra ones in the back. Theres also answers so you can solve them yourself them yourself but the important answers are answer a tad later. Ok on to the actual story. So winsteen breen finds himself in a big puzzle contest and picks his friends to be his teamates.However his not so fav teacher is picked to be the " chaperone" and every thing seems to go wrong.To add to all the craziness the a cheater in the competition and he is determined to win. This book will have you frazzeled dismaed and terrificly happy.I completly recommend this book to anyone and everyone aldults and kids.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is great especially since it is a nutmeg
Seaberg Family Account More than 1 year ago
I am in fourth grade and I love this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book totally deserves 5 stars, amazing with redherrings and puzzles that make u go out of your mind to solve them, i think that u, especally if u r a puzzle lover will enjoy this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The novel "the puzzling world of Winston Breen: the potato chip puzzles" by Eric Berlin is about a boy named Winston who loves doing Puzzles. The story takes place during Winston's summer vacation One-day Winston's school was invited to a puzzle contest. The school principal gave Winston a card. He needed solve a puzzle to figure out what the card said. On the day of the puzzle contest [which was the first day of summer vacation] Winston's puzzle team went to Simons snack food, [the host of the puzzle contest] for the rules and the location of the first puzzle. The information was on the computer that Simon gave them. When Winston's team was trying to leave the Simons snack food parking lot their car got a flat tire, which puts them behind. When they got to the first of six puzzles they partnered up with the greater oaks team to solve the puzzle but for the second puzzle they partnered up with the demilla academy team. When they came out of the corn maze, [the second puzzle] only Winston's team got the answer right and Demilla academy had to do the corn maze all over again. When Winston's team finished the third puzzle they figured out that there was a cheater and told every other team about it and 2 teams quit because of this cheater. Winston called ray [a retired policeman] with Mr. Garvey's cell phone to ask him to track a mysterious phone call earlier in the Week. The mysterious phone call asked if Winston was going to the puzzle contest. A few hours later ray called back saying it was Brendon root [a player on the west meadow team] that called him. Winston's team broke their computer by accident but when they got their answer they had to submit it on the greater oaks computer and promised to give them half of the money if they won but it was to late. The winner of the contest was the west meadow team but the cheater was the teacher of the west meadow team. The west meadow team did not get the money because their teacher cheated. Winston's team won the contest but got half since they promised to give the other half to the greater oaks team. Every team but the 2 teams that quit went to MR. Simon's barbeque The book had many positives and negatives. The first thing that I liked in the book is that it had a great theme to it. The next thing that I liked was that it had lots of interesting characters. The final thing I liked was how it gave puzzles for the reader to solve. I did have things in the book that I didn't like too. The first thing I didn't like was that there was a cheater that gave flat tires, and other bad things. Another reason is Mr. Garvey wanted to put 2 of his math experts in the puzzle contest instead of Winston's friends to complete the puzzles faster so they could win. The last thing I didn't like was that the author did not give more information about Winston jake and mal like age, grade, etc. those were some of the many positives and negatives in this book. I would recommend this book to any puzzle lover. One reason is because the 3 friends are very interesting. Another reason is you will not want to stop reading the novel because the ending will surprise you. The final reason is the theme of the story is very interesting because it is set at varies locations. Some of the many similar novels I would recommend are the golly whopper games by Jody Feldman, the puzzling world of Winston Breen by Eric Berlin, the green magician puzzle by Susan Pearson and Gioia Fiammenghi, and finally the westing games.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is so amazing!! Once I picked this book up, I couldn't put it down!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Most people said that this book stinks. Why?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good book but kind of confusing. But i liked the puzzles in the back and the riddles where fun to figure out and ask people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book i have read it many times to my students off my nook they enjoyed it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is freakin awesome as heck
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago