Power Up! Mutations and Mutilations of 8-Bit Hits

Power Up! Mutations and Mutilations of 8-Bit Hits


$16.40 $16.99 Save 3% Current price is $16.4, Original price is $16.99. You Save 3%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Monday, October 22  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


Power Up! Mutations and Mutilations of 8-Bit Hits

This collection of covers of NES songs by contemporary rock and electronica outfits -- a lot of which are metal or experimental bands -- makes sense, not only because of the technical skill that playing the video game music requires, but also because the label that put out Power Up! Mutations and Mutilations of 8-Bit Hits, Dwell, focuses on metal. The Fucking Champs do a great version of "The Legend of Zelda (Overworld Theme)" (Twelve-Handed Men of Mars also pay tribute to that game with their take on the spaghetti Western-esque theme), while Upsilon Acrux cover "Rush'n Attack (Stage 1/Unknown Version)" and the Ahleuchatistas lay their heavy hands on "Bad Dudes." There is some variety in the genres represented, however: Doug McDiarmid from the Anticon experimental indie rock group Why? plays his piano on "Marble Madness," and experimental techno artist Christopher Willits contributes "Metroid (aka The Lovers of Samus Aran)" as well as "Castlevania (aka Ascelitrava)," the latter as part of the trio Flössin. While there are a few minor alterations in some of the songs, and the album does slow down a lot toward the middle, Power Up! Mutations and Mutilations of 8-Bit Hits is still pretty fun, and one that any fan of Nintendo will want to add to his or her CD collection, right next to the Advantage and Minibosses albums.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/31/2006
Label: Dwell Records
UPC: 0027297916326
catalogNumber: 9163
Rank: 224535

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eric Kiersnowski   Bass
Tim Soete   Guitar,Percussion
Mike Armstrong   Electric Guitar,Melodica
Zach Hill   Track Performer
Christopher Willits   Track Performer,Musician
Brady Miller   Guitar
Mike Albanese   Drums
Sean Dail   Drums
Ben Loory   Mandolin
Derek Poteat   Bass
Shane Perlowin   Guitar
Joel Hatstat   Bass
Paul Lai   Guitar
Doug McDiarmid   Piano
Phil Manley   Guitar

Technical Credits

Christopher Willits   Arranger
Argee Geronca   Art Direction
James Curtiss   Producer,Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews