×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Practicing What You Preach
     

Practicing What You Preach

4.5 4
by Vanessa Davis Griggs
 

Pastor George Landris inspires yet another couple as they go deeper in the Word of God while learning to deal with their individual past pains, betrayals, and hurts.

The wedding between Angela Gabriel and Brent Underwood promises to be the Birmingham event of the year—and aspiring event planner Melissa Anderson has been working feverishly to make it happen.

Overview

Pastor George Landris inspires yet another couple as they go deeper in the Word of God while learning to deal with their individual past pains, betrayals, and hurts.

The wedding between Angela Gabriel and Brent Underwood promises to be the Birmingham event of the year—and aspiring event planner Melissa Anderson has been working feverishly to make it happen. During this hectic time, she even agrees to go out on a date with a most unlikely prospect: Marcus Peeples. It's not love at first sight, but after an enjoyable evening together of Bible study at Followers of Jesus Faith Worship Center, Melissa has a change of heart. She learns that not only is Marcus a successful investor, he's also a gifted minister. There's just one hitch: He's divorced—a fact Melissa can't reconcile with scripture. But when Marcus's diva ex-wife decides she wants him back, Melissa soon discovers love, divorce, and faith have quite a bit in common...

"Vanessa is a superb storyteller...her Christian-based stories will inspire you." —ReShonda Tate Billingsley

"I absolutely love Vanessa's unique writing style. She is one of a kind." —Mary Monroe, New York Times bestselling author

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

Wedding planner Melissa Anderson agrees to a date with minister Marcus Peeples even though he didn't make a great first impression when she met him. She decides to give him a chance, but Melissa can't accept that Marcus is a divorced father. Divorce is against Melissa's beliefs, and she is not sure she can date a man who already had a wife. VERDICT Griggs's ("Blessed Trinity" trilogy) first entry in a new series is a smart novel that addresses an issue that many in the church shy away from—divorce—with frank realism. It also features an interesting romance, with characters who are refreshingly (for inspirational fiction) imperfect. For readers of African American fiction, especially those who enjoy novels by Victoria Christopher Murray (see below) and Stacy Hawkins Adams (see above).


—Tamara Butler

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780758253033
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
07/03/2012
Pages:
300
Sales rank:
953,310
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.60(h) x 1.10(d)

Meet the Author

Vanessa Davis Griggs is a motivational speaker and the author of If Memory Serves, Strongholds, Blessed Trinity, Wings of Grace, and Promises Beyond Jordan. A recipient of several awards, this married mother of three adult sons and grandmother of two adorable granddaughters lives in Birmingham, Alabama.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews