×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Practicing What You Preach
     

Practicing What You Preach

4.3 6
by Vanessa Davis Griggs
 

See All Formats & Editions

The wedding between Angela Gabriel and Brent Underwood promises to be the Birmingham event of the year—and aspiring event planner Melissa Anderson has been working feverishly to make it happen. During this hectic time, she even agrees to go out on a date with a most unlikely prospect: Marcus Peeples. When it came to Marcus, it definitely wasn't love at

Overview

The wedding between Angela Gabriel and Brent Underwood promises to be the Birmingham event of the year—and aspiring event planner Melissa Anderson has been working feverishly to make it happen. During this hectic time, she even agrees to go out on a date with a most unlikely prospect: Marcus Peeples. When it came to Marcus, it definitely wasn't love at first sight. But after a lovely evening together of Bible study at Followers of Jesus Faith Worship Center, Melissa has a change of heart. She learns not only is Marcus a successful investor, but he's also a gifted minister. There's just one hitch: He's divorced—a fact Melissa can't reconcile with scripture even though she knows he's a good man and father. But when Marcus's diva ex-wife decides she wants him back, Melissa soon discovers love, divorce, and faith have quite a bit in common. . .

Praise for Vanessa Davis Griggs and her novels. . .

"This inspirational novel leaves the reader eager to know what Griggs plans next for this spiritual family." —Publishers Weekly on Blessed Trinity

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

Wedding planner Melissa Anderson agrees to a date with minister Marcus Peeples even though he didn't make a great first impression when she met him. She decides to give him a chance, but Melissa can't accept that Marcus is a divorced father. Divorce is against Melissa's beliefs, and she is not sure she can date a man who already had a wife. VERDICT Griggs's ("Blessed Trinity" trilogy) first entry in a new series is a smart novel that addresses an issue that many in the church shy away from—divorce—with frank realism. It also features an interesting romance, with characters who are refreshingly (for inspirational fiction) imperfect. For readers of African American fiction, especially those who enjoy novels by Victoria Christopher Murray (see below) and Stacy Hawkins Adams (see above).


—Tamara Butler

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780758232229
Publisher:
Kensington
Publication date:
06/01/2009
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
300
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.00(d)

Meet the Author

Vanessa Davis Griggs is a motivational speaker and the author of If Memory Serves, Strongholds, Blessed Trinity, Wings of Grace, and Promises Beyond Jordan. A recipient of several awards, this married mother of three adult sons and grandmother of two adorable granddaughters lives in Birmingham, Alabama.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Practicing What You Preach 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Snookystyle More than 1 year ago
I loved this book, it was filled up with scriptures, which is really one of its wonderful assets, but I also used it as a bible study tool, especially when it came to marriage and divorce. Thanks Vanessa Davis Griggs, your book helped me out alot.
Dream_4_More_Book_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Vanessa Davis Griggs has a blend of characters with social issues, baby mama drama, and unveiling faith. Characters are well-written that interweaves some generational curses that need to be broken, religiosity, judgmental believers, and genuine angels that step out of the norm. There are some characters you cannot help but love, and others question their motives when they realize they lost something good! Do not jump to other people opinions of you, do not be quick to anger, and loose what God brought in your life (divine connections, job, people, divine relationships and marriages, etc.). Do not loose on the blessings God has for you! Break those generational curses, strongholds, and negativity in your life. This book lays it all out. It is a must-read. Practice what you Preach! Thank you for entrusting us with your advance copy! Dream 4 More Book Reviews, Adrienna Turner, President/CEO
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OnAssignment More than 1 year ago
Practicing What You Preach is an excellent presentation of what happens when a person comes down with a case of Pharisees Fever. The most prevalent symptom of the disease is a dedication to living by the letter of the law rather than the humanity of it. Such is the case for Melissa Anderson. After rededicating her life to Christ, Melissa focuses on her job and her religion. The problem with this is that her religious mind is overriding common sense. The book is one that challenges the reader to pull out their own bibles. Some will call this work preachy, others will find it nourishing. What I found is that Ms. Davis-Griggs skillfully presents real life conflict while seaming it to the necessity of needing to truly understand the laws that govern your life, but not missing out on life due to constraints of self-imposed rigidity. Reviewed by Dr. Linda Beed On Assignment Reviews