Prestige Profiles

Prestige Profiles

by Sonny Rollins

CD(Bonus CD)

$9.78 $11.99 Save 18% Current price is $9.78, Original price is $11.99. You Save 18%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, September 28 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Prestige Profiles

Prestige Profiles, Vol. 3 highlights recordings made in the 1950s by tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins for the legendary jazz label. Although the majority of these ten tracks are standards, including "More Than You Know," "On a Slow Boat to China," and "It's All Right with Me," they emphasize Rollins' ability to make every performance his own, no matter how many times he has played a particular song. Also included are the Rollins-penned "Tenor Madness," "Mambo Bounce," and "St. Thomas," a tune that has since become a modern jazz standard. While there is nothing here the jazz collector doesn't already own, Prestige Profiles, Vol. 3 provides a decent sampling for the curious listener at a mid-line price. For a limited time, the first ten volumes in this series include a free bonus compilation CD of Prestige artists.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/25/2005
Label: Prestige
UPC: 0025218580328
catalogNumber: 5803
Rank: 124398

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sonny Rollins   Primary Artist,Tenor Saxophone
Clifford Brown   Trumpet
Ray Bryant   Piano
Earl Coleman   Vocals
Kenny Drew   Piano
Tommy Flanagan   Piano
Red Garland   Piano
Milt Jackson   Vibes
Philly Joe Jones   Drums
John Lewis   Piano
Max Roach   Drums
Art Taylor   Drums
Doug Watkins   Bass
Tommy Potter   Bass
Percy Heath   Bass
Art Blakey   Drums
Kenny Clarke   Drums
John Coltrane   Tenor Saxophone
Thelonious Monk   Piano
George Morrow   Bass
Richie Powell   Piano
John Richard Lewis   Piano

Technical Credits

Sonny Rollins   Composer
Vincent Youmans   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
Tom Dowd   Engineer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Rudy Van Gelder   Engineer
Ira Gitler   Liner Notes,Audio Production
Doug Hawkins   Engineer
Nick Phillips   Producer
Cole Porter   Composer
Leo Robin   Composer
Bob Weinstock   Audio Production
Jamie Putnam   Art Direction
Richard A. Whiting   Composer
Edward Eliscu   Composer
Newell Chase   Composer
Billy Rose   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews