A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

by Robert M. Sapolsky
4.2 18

Paperback(Reprint)

$11.59 $17.00 Save 32% Current price is $11.59, Original price is $17. You Save 32%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Tuesday, September 26 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.
    Same Day delivery in Manhattan. 
    Details

Overview

A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons by Robert M. Sapolsky

In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

“I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780743202411
Publisher: Scribner
Publication date: 03/05/2002
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 157,011
Product dimensions: 5.70(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Robert M. Sapolsky is the author of several works of nonfiction, including A Primate's Memoir, The Trouble with Testosterone, and Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers. He is a professor of biology and neurology at Stanford University and the recipient of a MacArthur Foundation genius grant. He lives in San Francisco.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Sapolsky is a witty writter, but that can't change the fact that the book is not about baboons; in fact the 'primate' the title refers to is Sapolsky himself! The story is of his experinces in Africa, and not particually his life in the field. I was so disappointed that I didn't finish it. If your interested in primates I suggest you try these titles...
Guest More than 1 year ago
As an individual interested in anthropology (cultural and physical) this book was right up my alley! Yet, you don't have to be an anthropologist to enjoy this book. I can't say anything more than - it's wonderful, you have to read it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This writer has such an interesting, amusing style of writing. His story is riveting & his descriptions of the baboon troops had me laughing out loud.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book would appeal to anyone interested in Africa or animal behavior or anyone with an adventurous spirit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My scienve teacher recomended it was really good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow this book is just wonderful and i recommend highly!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a wonderful book, that I enjoyed from beginning to end. Not only did it open up the world of baboons to me, but it opened up Africa with all of its charm and troubles as well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My anthropology professor Douglas Mallach recommended that I read this book. Douglas Mallach is teaches at DePaul University. He was absolutely on point in his recommendation. A Primate's memoir is must reading for anyone studying anthropology. I have received recommendations to read this book from other anthropology professors other than Douglas Mallach.