Prince of the Plains

Prince of the Plains

by Troy Boucher

Hardcover

$19.95
View All Available Formats & Editions
MARKETPLACE
2 New & Used Starting at $2.08

Overview

Of all the men who rode with Billy the Kid, one of the least well-know is Henry Newton Brown. Brown broke with Billy the Kid and for a time served as an assistant marshal of Tascaso, Texas. Restless and looking for a better life, Brown ended up in Caldwell, Kansas in where he became an assistant marshal and eventually, after Bat Carr was fired, he became the marshal, of the cowtown known as the Border Queen.
Sure that his past had been safely left in New Mexico, he began to settle-in as a respected citizen of Caldwell. He was honored with the gift of an engraved Winchester as a token of the town?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781589392045
Publisher: Virtualbookworm.com
Publication date: 05/28/2002
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.75(d)

About the Author

Troy Boucher grew up in a small, western Oklahoma town on what was once a large Cheyenne-Arapaho reservation. As a child he spent his time watching western movies on Saturday afternoons, reading Zane Grey novels, and wanting to grow up to be a cowboy. Most of his adult life has been spent teaching writing and American literature in a small private college. He enjoys writing, reading, gardening, and traveling with his wife to interesting places in the plains states and other areas of the country. His short stories have appeared in Cottonwood Magazine, Square One, Ellipsis, Kansas Stories, 1989, and The Chiron Review. His short story "Pocket Money" won first place in the Bob Gross Fiction Contest sponsored by Woodley Press.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Prince of the Plains 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
DMR1 More than 1 year ago
Prince of the Plains is a wonderfully written fictional novel with facts of history woven into this vivid and exciting tale of the life of Henry Newton Brown. The setting is the American West in the latter 1800’s, and the author’s artful writing style swiftly gets the reader into the story with first-rate narrative, compelling and captivating characters, and effective and convincing dialogue. All the characters are skillfully created and multi-dimensional. The writing is sharp and crisp, and the author’s research has paid off in the skillful way he writes about every detail of the time period.  I thoroughly enjoyed this novel; I did not want it to end.  Looking forward to reading more from this talented author. I highly recommend it. Review by author, Diane Mae Robinson
Guest More than 1 year ago
Troy Boucher tells a wonderful and interesting story combining history and his imagination. The ending, which is true to life, is very good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
A beautiful and often touching narrative from a talented Kansas writer. Boucher's compelling story is written with a strong love and honest respect for the historical characters that once traversed the Old West. The gritty prose, always rich and well-paced, is equally poetic and terse. Throughout this narrative, Boucher successfully manages to combine a few subtle elements of Hamlet with the rugged landscape of the western genre while staying true to the life of Henry Brown. The novel, dealing with the beginning of the 'civilized' west, is extremely thought-provoking and offers the reader strong evocations of place, atmosphere and multi-dimensional characters. The true beauty of this novel is that it is not only for fans of western fiction. This novel is a MUST for a fan of any kind of fiction. Do not dismiss this narrative as mere genre writing. Fans of Steinbeck, Twain, McMurtry, and James Lee Burke will not be disappointed. Don't let this one pass you by. It is essential reading about the human condition...for any century.