Princess of the Hither Isles: A Black Suffragist's Story from the Jim Crow South

Princess of the Hither Isles: A Black Suffragist's Story from the Jim Crow South

by Adele Logan Alexander


$27.00 $30.00 Save 10% Current price is $27, Original price is $30. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 19
20 New & Used Starting at $9.00


A compelling reconstruction of the life of a black suffragist, Adella Hunt Logan, blending family lore, historical research, and literary imagination
Born during the Civil War into a slaveholding family that included black, white, and Cherokee forebears, Adella Hunt Logan dedicated herself to advancing political and educational opportunities for the African American community. She taught at Alabama’s Tuskegee Institute but also joined the segregated woman suffrage movement, passing for white in order to fight for the rights of people of color. Her determination—as a wife, mother, scholar, and activist —to challenge the draconian restraints of race and gender generated conflicts that precipitated her tragic demise.
Historian Adele Logan Alexander—Adella Hunt Logan’s granddaughter—portrays Adella, her family, and contemporaries such as Booker T. Washington, Susan B. Anthony, Frederick Douglass, George Washington Carver, Theodore Roosevelt, and W. E. B. Du Bois. Alexander bridges the chasms that frustrate efforts to document the lives of those who traditionally have been silenced, weaving together family lore, historical research, and literary imagination into a riveting, multigenerational family saga.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780300242607
Publisher: Yale University Press
Publication date: 09/24/2019
Pages: 392
Sales rank: 252,957
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.30(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Adele Logan Alexander taught for many years at George Washington University. She is the author of Ambiguous Lives: Free Women of Color in Rural Georgia, 1789–1879 and Homelands and Waterways: The American Journey of the Bond Family, 1846­–1926.

Table of Contents

Genealogies x

Introduction: Legacies 1

1 The People Who Can Fly 6

2 Susan's Stories 9

3 The Hunts' War 32

4 School Days 51

5 Trains, Rains, Pedagogy, and Savagery 66

6 The Hither Isles 87

7 Vanished 115

8 Obstreperous Women 136

9 Of the Genius and Training of Black Folk 154

10 Up from Slavery, Off to the White House 166

11 Minds, Bodies, and Souls 187

12 Recalled to Life 217

13 Live Not on Evil 229

14 Reckless and Insubordinate 240

15 The Princess and the Pen 253

16 Firestorm 269

17 Exile 288

18 Flight 298

After the Fall 306

Afterword: "What a Strange Thing Is 'Race,' and Family, Stranger Still" 312

Rationale, Methods, Sources, and Notes 325

Acknowledgments 359

Index 363

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews