Prisoners of Love: A Smattering of Scintillating Senescent Songs: 1985-2003 [Bonus CD]

Prisoners of Love: A Smattering of Scintillating Senescent Songs: 1985-2003 [Bonus CD]

by Yo La Tengo


Yo La Tengo is the quintessential indie-rock band. Certainly measured by longevity and overall consistency, no one else comes close, as Prisoners of Love amply proves over the course of two generous discs. Subtitled A Smattering of Scintillating Senescent Songs 1985-2003, Prisoners moves seamlessly from the jangly 1985 single "The River of Water" to 1997's signature tune "Autumn Sweater" to the rolling feedback of 1993's "Big Day Coming." Mixing album tracks and singles from throughout the Hoboken band's career, Prisoners includes plenty of pure pop like "Tom Courtenay" and "Sugarcube," sweet meditations like "The Summer" and "Season of the Shark," and distorted freak-outs like "I Heard You Looking" and "Blue Line Swinger." It also collects anomalies like the profane Sun Ra cover "Nuclear War" and the disco-inflected "You Can Have It All." While conventional wisdom states that Yo La Tengo hit their stride when bassist James McNew joined guitarist Ira Kaplan and drummer Georgia Hubley for 1993's Painful, this non-chronological set places "Barnaby, Hardly Working" from 1989's President Yo La Tengo next to 2003's "Little Eyes" with no discernible gap in quality. Prisoners is essential from start to finish. As a treat for fans, the set is available with a third disc of 16 outtakes and rarities, including five previously unreleased tracks, an early cover of Stevie Nicks's "Dreams," and an excellent remix of "Autumn Sweater" by My Bloody Valentine's Kevin Shields.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/22/2005
Label: Matador Records
UPC: 0744861064527
catalogNumber: 10645


Disc 1

  1. Shaker
  2. Sugarcube
  3. Barnaby, Hardly Working
  4. Little Eyes
  5. Stockholm Syndrome
  6. Our Way to Fall
  7. From a Motel 6
  8. Swing for Life
  9. Tom Courtenay
  10. Lewis
  11. I Heard You Looking
  12. You Can Have It All
  13. Did I Tell You

Disc 2

  1. The River of Water
  2. Autumn Sweater
  3. Big Day Coming
  4. Pablo and Andrea
  5. Drug Test
  6. Season of the Shark
  7. Upside-Down
  8. The Summer
  9. Tears Are in Your Eyes
  10. Blue Line Swinger
  11. The Story of Jazz
  12. Nuclear War (Version 1)
  13. By the Time It Gets Dark

Disc 3

  1. Stay Away from Heaven
  2. Pencil Test
  3. Almost True
  4. Tom Courtenay
  5. Big Day Coming
  6. Dreaming
  7. Bad Politics
  8. Blue-Green Arrow
  9. Decora
  10. Out the Window
  11. Weather Shy
  12. Dreams
  13. Autumn Sweater
  14. Ashes on the Ground
  15. Mr. Ameche Plays the Stranger
  16. Magnet

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Yo La Tengo   Primary Artist
Gene Holder   Bass
Steve Michener   Bass
Dave Schramm   Guitar
Stephan Wichnewski   Bass
Dave Rick   Bass,Guitar
David Henry   Cello
Paul Niehaus   Pedal Steel Guitar
Gary Larson   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Stevie Nicks   Composer
Yo La Tengo   Composer
Terry Adams   Composer
David Fair   Composer
Gene Holder   Producer
Georgia Hubley   Composer
Ira Kaplan   Composer
Roger Moutenot   Producer
Kevin Shields   Remixing
Joey Spampinato   Composer
Chris Stein   Composer
Fred Brockman   Producer
Mark Guenther   Engineer
Dead C   Composer
David Henry   Engineer
Joe Sacco   Poster Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Prisoners of Love: A Smattering of Scintillating Senescent Songs: 1985-2003 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago