Prize Stories 1999: The O. Henry Awards

Prize Stories 1999: The O. Henry Awards

by Larry Dark


$20.74 $23.00 Save 10% Current price is $20.74, Original price is $23. You Save 10%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, August 24 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Prize Stories 1999: The O. Henry Awards by Larry Dark

Established in 1918 as a memorial to O. Henry, this esteemed annual collection has presented a remarkable collection of stories over the years. Recently, Series Editor Larry Dark has incorporated some exciting changes: a magazine award, the eligibility of stories from Canadian magazines, a list of fifty Honorable Mention stories, an expanded listing of publications consulted, and a celebrity-author top-prize jury.

Representing the very best in contemporary American and Canadian fiction, Prize Stories 1999: The O. Henry Awards is a superb collection of twenty inventive, full-bodied short stories brimming with life -- proof of the continuing strength and variety of the genre.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385493581
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/14/1999
Series: Prize Stories Series
Pages: 464
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.25(d)

About the Author

Larry Dark is a graduate of Columbia University's M.F.A. creative writing program  and the editor of four additional anthologies: Literary Outtakes, The Literary Ghost, The Literary Lover, and The Literary Traveler. He lives in Montclair, New Jersey.

Sherman Alexie, a former O.Henry prizewinner, has most recently published a novel, Indian Killer, as well as a collection of short stories about Native American life entitled The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven, which was the basis of the award-winning film Smoke Signals.

Stephen King is the author of countless bestselling novels, including his latest chart buster, Bag of Bones. He was the 1996 O.Henry Awards top-prize winner. Lorrie Moore is a professor of English at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Her work has appeared in The New Yorker, Best American Short Stories, and won the top honor in Prize Stories 1998. She is the author of two novels and three short-story collections, including her latest, Birds of America.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews