Proof: Poems

Proof: Poems

by Murray Dunlap, Michael Knight


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


At 34, a man missed a red-light and every single thing about Murray Dunlap’s life changed. Because of

the wreck, he was diagnosed with a traumatic brain injury; he spent three months in a coma, a year in a

wheelchair, and more using a walker. He was a married writer about to start a new career as an English

teacher, but their marriage could not survive the confusion and amnesia. When asked, he did not know

he was married.

Proof is an intimate journey from trauma to recovery and acceptance through love, faith, and

understanding. His poetry is a first-hand account of the pain of loss—of love, belief, and a former

life—the struggles of healing, and the uncertainty of starting over. It is a personal triumph celebrating

the joys of finding love and spirituality again. With poignantly honest and genuine poetry, Murray

Dunlap captures the beauty of strength and the transcendence of tragedy.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780999131718
Publisher: The Country Bookshop
Publication date: 05/21/2018
Pages: 80
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.19(d)

Table of Contents

Introduction by Michael Knight ix

Proof (for VW) 1

Writer in Residence 2

If the World Was Fair 3

Amnesia 4

The Art of Art 5

The Thoughtful Response 6

Mask of Truth 7

The Light of Her Eyes, The Light of His 8

Eyes of Gold 9

Love Steps In 10

My Time 11

Grace 12

Brain Injury 13

The Time of My Life 15

Hairstreaks and Blues 16

Long Days 17

Defining Marriage 18

The Light Shines On 19

Reward 20

Hey God, Thanks for Coming 21

The Damselfish of Hope 22

Fever 23

Eloquent Insanity 24

If I Were the Devil 25

Fighting 27

Showboat Blues 28

Elegant Keys 29

Christ Episcopal Church, Fairfield 30

Eyes of Art 31

A Severe Life 32

Now 33

Light 34

Fellowship of the Sun 35

The Words We Cower To 36

To Love Another 37

Boats Are in My Blood 38

In Another Life 39

Within the Words 40

Hallowed 41

In an Instant 42

Lights 44

Another Day 45

Trapped in Glass 46

Foreigner 47

Forces of Nature 48

Moving Away, Moving On 49

Tick Tock 50

Run 51

Chasing False Gods 52

Borrowed Steel 53

Fathering Love 54

Recharge 55

Timing 56

Acknowledgments 57

Customer Reviews