by Sunny Sweeney


$12.02 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.02, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, October 23 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.



Provoked, the title of Sunny Sweeney's third album, is an apt one. After nearly a decade of highs and lows professionally and personally, the East Texas singer and songwriter returns with ferocity. The album, crowd-funded through a Kickstarter campaign, was released by the independent Thirty Tigers. It's a provocative album, detailing a difficult journey through disappointment, doubt, darkness, and ultimately triumph. It's chock-full of vulnerability, accountability, an acidic wit and strength. Sweeney co-wrote 11 of the 13 songs on the Luke Wooten-produced set. Both the opener, "You Don't Know Your Husband," and its lead single, the rocking, radio-friendly "Bad Girl Phase," swagger and strut with clattering rhythms and guitars and banjos blazing -- the former with a tough dobro break by Jake Clayton. The attitude in those tracks recalls the anthemic, no-apologies militancy of Gretchen Wilson at her best. Nearly full use is made of studio tropes that befit contemporary country's current soundscape, save for Auto-Tune. The sassy choogler "Can't Let Go" underscores Sweeney's ability to honestly observe and report on things exactly as they are. This also true in the midtempo songs and ballads. The longing in the shimmering country waltz "Find Me" is a highlight, as is "My Bed," a duet with Will Hoge that details both viewpoints at the end of a marriage. "Uninvited" marries gospel and pop as Sweeney's East Texas vocal comes through the center. The sassy closer "Everybody Else Can Kiss My Ass" is hard, classic honky tonk, with pedal steel and fiddle raging. The musical range and candid nature of these well-crafted songs serve to make Provoked the most consistent -- and diverse -- of Sweeney's offerings. Honest, poignant, and often funny, this is contemporary country with real heart. It should not only appeal to fans, but to a wider audience to boot.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2014
Label: Aunt Daddy Records
UPC: 0748252905208
catalogNumber: 1
Rank: 11103

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sunny Sweeney   Primary Artist
J.T. Corenflos   Electric Guitar
Alison Prestwood   Bass
Mike Rojas   Organ,Accordion,Keyboards
Brian Sutton   Acoustic Guitar
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Gayle Mayes   Background Vocals
Gibb Droll   Electric Guitar
Fred Eltringham   Percussion,Drums
Luke Wooten   Electric Guitar,Kazoo,Background Vocals
Elizabeth Cook   Children's Chorus
Steven Sheehan   Acoustic Guitar
Joanna Janet   Background Vocals
Hannah Smith   Children's Chorus
Angie Primm   Background Vocals
Jake Clayton   Banjo,Dobro,Fiddle,Cello
Mike Johnson   Pedal Steel Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Molly Bacurin   Children's Chorus
Michael Hellmer   Children's Chorus
Isabelle Adams   Children's Chorus
Gwen Merrill   Children's Chorus
Emma Wooten   Children's Chorus

Technical Credits

Brett Beavers   Composer
Connie Harrington   Composer
Natalie Hemby   Composer
Mark Sanders   Composer
Randy Weeks   Composer
Monty Holmes   Composer
Luke Wooten   Producer,Engineer
Brad Warren   Composer
Brett Warren   Composer
Buddy Owens   Composer
Lance Miller   Composer
Shannon Wright   Composer
Shauna Dodds   Art Direction
Ashley Monroe   Composer
Sunny Sweeney   Composer
Jay Clementi   Composer
Brandy Clark   Composer
Sarah Dodds   Art Direction
Angaleena Presley   Composer
Jesse Jo Dillon   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews