Psst... Psst!

Psst... Psst!

by Beta Collide


$14.24 $14.99 Save 5% Current price is $14.24, Original price is $14.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Wednesday, March 28 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Psst... Psst!

Psst… Psst! is the first release by the Oregon-based new music group Beta Collide, whose members include flutist Molly Barth (one of the founders of eighth blackbird), Brian McWhorter on trumpet and flügelhorn, David Riley on piano and celesta, and percussionist Phillip Patti. The selections, which include the group's arrangement of György Ligeti's "Mysteries of the Macabre," their remix of Radiohead's "Nude," and works by Frederic Rzewski, Valentin Silvestrov, Robert Erickson, Stephen Vitiello, and Robert Kyr, are refreshingly diverse, and in the spirit of eighth blackbird, show an independent irreverence toward the orthodoxies of the new music recital. A lot of the music is just plain fun. Three whimsical works by Rzewski are essentially the same piece heard in different guises, his "Mollitude" (written for Barth in 2006), "Nanosonata No. 7 for piano," and "Nanosonata No. 7 + Mollitude," where the two are simultaneously played, to delightful effect. "Mysteries of the Macabre" is an absurd mélange of spoken word and disjunct instrumental fragments that manages to make sense as a satisfying musical whole. Erickson's "Kryl" requires jaw-dropping virtuosity from the solo trumpet, as well as split-second alternations of playing with outrageous extended vocal techniques. Other pieces are simply lovely. Silvestrov's "Trio for flute, trumpet, and celesta" has an effervescent otherworldliness far more animated than the serene mysticism usually associated with his work. Kyr's "Memories of an Echo" is built on a transparently simple premise; the sound of the flute predominates at the beginning, with the flügelhorn heard from an extreme distance, and over the course of the piece they gradually exchange positions, and the effect is magical. Each of these players is exceptionally virtuosic, negotiating the demanding scores with apparent effortlessness. Innova's sound is clean and open, with excellent presence. Beta Collide is an ensemble that fans of new music should watch out for.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/31/2010
Label: Innova Records
UPC: 0726708677527
catalogNumber: 775
Rank: 244007

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Beta Collide   Primary Artist,Ensemble

Technical Credits

Robert Erickson   Composer
György Ligeti   Composer
Frederic Rzewski   Composer
Philip Blackburn   Director
Colin Greenwood   Composer
Jonny Greenwood   Composer
Ed O'Brien   Composer
Phil Selway   Composer
Thom Yorke   Composer
Stephen Vitiello   Composer,Engineer
Valentin Silvestrov   Composer
Brian McWhorter   Producer,Remixing
Chris Campbell   Management
Molly Alicia Barth   Producer
Robert Kyr   Composer
Robert Ponto   Recording Assistant
Beta Collide   Arranger,Remix Arrangement
Lance Miller   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews