Pushing Perfect

Pushing Perfect

by Michelle Falkoff

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Pushing Perfect by Michelle Falkoff

A girl’s quest for perfection results in dangerous consequences in this smart, suspenseful YA novel by the author of Playlist for the Dead. Fans of We Were Liars and The Secret History will devour this layered, ensemble-cast novel in which “twists and turns abound” (SLJ).

How far would you go to be perfect?

Kara has the perfect life. At least, that’s what she wants everyone to believe. The truth is, she works hard to maintain that illusion.

But when a moment of doubt leads Kara to do something risky—and illegal—someone sees. Before she knows it, she’s drawn into an unlikely group of classmates, all bound together by secrets of their own. Secrets that are being used against them.

Soon Kara is forced to confront how far she’s willing to go to be perfect—and if that’s something she really wants to be.  

“Reminiscent of the novels of Joan Lowery Nixon and Lois Duncan, this mystery set in a modern-day well-to-do suburb in California will keep readers turning the pages.” —School Library Journal

“Full of well-developed, diverse supporting characters. For teens who enjoy mysteries in the form of timely, realistic fiction.” —Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)

“Readers will be kept guessing.” —Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062310538
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/25/2016
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 501,282
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Michelle Falkoff is the author of Playlist for the Dead, Pushing Perfect, and Questions I Want to Ask YouHer fiction and reviews have been published in ZYZZYVA, DoubleTake, and the Harvard Review, among other places. She is a graduate of the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and currently serves as director of communication and legal reasoning at Northwestern University School of Law. Visit her online at www.michellefalkoff.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Pushing Perfect 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Aditi-ATWAMB More than 1 year ago
I finished speed reading this book about half an hour ago in class, and I'm struck by how easy it was to actually fall into the world. Michelle Falkos created this easily relatable main character, and a world that was just the right amount of complicated for someone to slip in and enjoy. Kara Winters has always been the perfect girl. Ever since she scored perfect marks in all her grade school tests, and her teacher call her perfect, the name stuck. She used to have two best friends, a shot on the swim team and a good social life until her skin problem hit her out of nowhere. Anxiety grows on her as does pressure when she reaches senior year, and just the thought of taking her SAT's causes panic attacks. So, with the help of her new friends, she takes some “study aids” to help her focus and gain her some confidence to make new friends. Until, that is, an anonymous person begins to blackmail her; asking for her to buy more drugs and drop them off, and then the game is afoot. Thinking about it now, the only thing I can think off is how EVERY SINGLE CHARACTER in this book got off scot-free. There were NO CONSEQUENCES Portrayed in the novel – AT ALL – for the illegal online gambling, the fake prescriptions, the possession and sale of drugs and the countless other characters in the blackmail ring. NONE AT ALL. Which made it feel only a little unbelievable. If I’m being totally honest, I didn’t understand the characters much either. I have best friends that have STUCK WITH ME through awkward puberty stages, three strikes and more and well, it all just seemed a little immature that Kara’s BEST FRIENDS didn’t care that she was a) having a panic attack b) miraculously transformed to high school divas and c) DIDN’T BOTHER TO CONTACT HER AFTER THEY KNEW ABOUT HER PROBLEM. While I did have a few problems with the book, there were certainly some plus points as well. Alex and Raj were definite plus points in the book! I loved how they were brought in, I loved their vibrant personalities and even their problems. They were easy to get to know and easy to relate to, and I REALLY liked them! I also loved how UNPREDICTABLE the ending was. I seriously did not see that coming. All in all, this was a book that I definitely recommend – it’s easy to slip into, handles the pressure of school and friendship and it a GREAT way to pass the time! 3.5 stars.