×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Q: A Novel
     

Q: A Novel

4.2 5
by Evan Mandery
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A philosophical, witty, wonderful, and altogether magical love story.”
—M.J. Rose, author of The Hypnotist

“Amiably outrageous….Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme, and Barth.”
—Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

“I’ve never read

Overview

“A philosophical, witty, wonderful, and altogether magical love story.”
—M.J. Rose, author of The Hypnotist

“Amiably outrageous….Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme, and Barth.”
—Joseph Skibell, author of A Curable Romantic

“I’ve never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it!”
—Jessica Anya Blau, author of Drinking Closer to Home

Q: A (Timeless) Love Story is a smart, romantic, and funny novel about tender and requited love, a wonderfully original literary feat from Evan Mandery, a rapidly rising fiction star. Taking the classic love story and turning it on its head, Mandery brilliantly blends outrageous humor, existential philosophy, and heartbreaking angst while offering a wealth of satisfying surprises. Funny and wise, a magical tale of a man obsessed yet unable to allow himself the fulfillment of a perfect romance with the one true love of his life, Q: A (Timeless) Love Story is a uniquely delightful work of fiction from one of the most exciting novelists currently on the literary scene.

Editorial Reviews

New York Times Book Review
“[A] delightful New York-infused novel …. A word to the tear prone: Don’t attempt to read the ending in public.”
Booklist
“[A] deeply funny, seriously smart novel, at times both romantic and pragmatic. Fans of Mark Kurlansky and Matthew Norman will appreciate Mandery’s eloquently witty authorial voice....Q is a remarkably refreshing work, full of energy and eminently absorbing.”
Joseph Skibell
“Q. is an amiably outrageous exploration of the sweetest sadnesses of life. A graceful, philosophical and gentle satirist, Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme and Barth.”
M.J. Rose
“A philosophical, witty, wonderful and altogether magical love story. Existential questions have never been couched in a more tender way.”
Jessica Anya Blau
“Q caught me by surprise; I’ve never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it! It is a smart, funny, book that surprised me all the way to the end. Mandery knots up history, philosophy, and love into Q, it’s utterly original and totally unforgettable.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062015839
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
08/23/2011
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
708,966
Product dimensions:
5.12(w) x 8.04(h) x 0.91(d)

Related Subjects

What People are Saying About This

M.J. Rose
“A philosophical, witty, wonderful and altogether magical love story. Existential questions have never been couched in a more tender way.”
Joseph Skibell
“Q. is an amiably outrageous exploration of the sweetest sadnesses of life. A graceful, philosophical and gentle satirist, Mandery is a worthy son of those great writers of the 1970s, Vonnegut, Barthelme and Barth.”
Jessica Anya Blau
“Q caught me by surprise; I’ve never read anything like it and enjoyed every minute of it! It is a smart, funny, book that surprised me all the way to the end. Mandery knots up history, philosophy, and love into Q, it’s utterly original and totally unforgettable.”

Meet the Author

Evan Mandery is a graduate of Harvard Law School, a professor at John Jay College of Criminal Justice in New York City, and the author of Dreaming of Gwen Stefani, First Contact, Q: A Novel, and two works of non-fiction.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Q 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The mountain is floating a mile in the air. It is made of cloud stone and beauty.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice take on how annoying time travel could be. Book made me mad at times, laugh at others and ultimately satisfied with how it wrapped up.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Heart2Heart More than 1 year ago
What would happen if somewhere in the future, the ability to travel through time became a reality? What if you could travel back in time to talk to your earlier version of yourself and stop events before they could ruin your life and make you miserable? Would you do it? In the novel, Q by Evan Mandery, this is the premise for the story. A man in the story is never mentioned by his name, which is odd when you consider it but it doesn't interrupt the story. He meets the girl of his dreams. She is cute, funny, and they have many of the same qualities in common from favorite game show hosts to frozen TV dinners. She comes from a family whose father, John Deveril, owns one of the top 10 construction companies and is always looking for the next big business project. He on the other hand, is a professor and a writer working on his second novel. His first, Time's Broken Arrow is published but is struggling to find readers who can enjoy the book without falling sleep or using it for a doorstop. He can completely imagine a life with Q, whose real name is Quentina Elizabeth Deveril, and is set on making plans for a wedding with her when his future self shows up, he is confused. Not sure just what is going on, he arranges for a series of meetings to find out what is going on and what does it mean for him. Ultimately the message is the same, do not marry Q! To find out why, well, you're going to have to pick this one up! I received this book compliments of TLC Book Tours for my honest review and LOVED it! Never imagined this type of scenario for a story but could empathize both with the present day and future versions of the man in Q's life. I would highly recommend this one for any reader looking for a twist on your traditional romance stories! I would rate this one a 5 out of 5 stars!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kill terrorbite cuz my mommy die of terrorbites -actual quote