Queen's Man (Justin de Quincy Series #1)

Queen's Man (Justin de Quincy Series #1)

by Sharon Kay Penman
4.4 18

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Queen's Man (Justin de Quincy Series #1) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book, as well as all the rest of the books in this series are wonderful. I enjoyed every second of this book and am exited to read Sharon Kay Penman's new book which is coming out in 2008.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've read all of Sharon Kay Penman's novels and they are all superb bits of Medieval Historical Fiction. I love her new Justin de Quincy series. The Queen's Man really hooks you and you want to keep following Justin throughout all of his dealings for ther Queen. I especially liked Dragon's Lair because it spends a lot of time in Wales which I love. I recommend all of Sharon Kay Penman's novels.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Many people look at this book and conclude that its a boring waste of time. But this is one of the best books I have ever read. It is mainly a murder mistery with awesome twists. Once I picked this book up I could not put it down. READ IT!!! It's awesome.
Sue_in_Wisconsin More than 1 year ago
Have just started reading this book, but already know that it will be up to the standards Ms. Penman has set with her other books. Once I finish the "Justin" series, the only other series of hers that I haven't read and own will be the "Welch Prince" series. I have immensely enjoyed every one of her books. Fans of Historical Fiction will thoroughly enjoy reading any one (or more) of her books. She pays great attention to detail and historical accuracy, always making sure to include her Author's Notes where she can relate in what few places she has taken any writer's liberty. Even her notes are extremely interesting reading!
LN_Adcox More than 1 year ago
FIRST MEDIEVAL MYSTERY Sharon Penman’s first medieval mystery introduces Justin de Quincy, the unacknowledged bastard son of an archbishop, who defiantly takes his father’s name. On the way to London, he chances upon the assault and murder of a goldsmith surreptitiously taking a letter to Eleanor of Aquitaine, the British monarch holding the throne for her son Richard the Lionhearted. This letter indicates that the missing king has been taken hostage by the Holy Roman Emperor as he returned from crusade in the Holy Land. Eleanor assigns Justin de Quincy to discover the identity of the goldsmith’s killers to determine if he was killed for the letter or simply by bandits. The characters have depth and are believable. A primary appeal of the book comes from the characterizations of Eleanor and her ambitious son John and their complex relationship. The background on prostitution in twelfth century London is also interesting. Penman is able to give a slight flavor of twelfth century English dialogue without making the story incomprehensible and without falling into the questionable practices of some novelists. Most of the dialogue is straight forward modern usage but it is flavored with a few words like “certes” for certain. The oaths are “Jesu” or “Christ on the Cross” rather than some contemporary four letter words that cannot be traced later than the thirteenth century. If you haven’t encountered Sharon Penman’s mysteries, this book should appeal to fans of Lindsey Davis, Steven Saylor, and Ruth Downie that are willing to move to the medieval era, and to fans of Ariana Franklin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
GoBama More than 1 year ago
This is the first SKP book I've read and I loved it. I cant wait to read more of her work. Right now I"ve got this thing going for Historical Fiction and this book quenched the craving.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ms. Penman makes the switch from Historical Fiction to Historical Mystery with flying colors, thoroughly enjoyable.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Queen's Man catches the reader right off.Each page brings out adventure. I found this book hard to put down. The author has found a way to bring the past alive.