R: Tropic of Anodyne

R: Tropic of Anodyne

by Roy Montgomery

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$18.04 $18.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.04, Original price is $18.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.


R: Tropic of Anodyne

Since 2000, New Zealand-based experimental guitarist Roy Montgomery has been far less prolific than he was in the '90s, having dedicated far more of his time to non-musical pursuits such as his career as a professor at Lincoln University. Aside from soundtrack work and limited split LPs with Grouper and the Dead C's Bruce Russell, R M H Q: Headquarters is Montgomery's first major solo work since 2000's The Allegory of Hearing and its companion album, 2001's Silver Wheel of Prayer. The project is a sprawling four-disc behemoth, with each album inhabiting a particular mindset and having a distinct theme. R: Tropic of Anodyne showcases Montgomery's weary baritone vocals, which have only graced a handful of his prior recordings. His lyrics are wry, alienated, and sometimes self-deprecating, particularly on the biting "You Always Get What You Deserve." His guitar playing seems languid and sparse, but it's far more detailed than it appears on the surface. Songs like "As the Sun Sets" (which ends with an excellent, aching guitar solo) manage to sound dark and ethereal without being goth, and the disc is a dreamy set of bitter ruminations.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/04/2016
Label: Grapefruit
UPC: 0600197676318
catalogNumber: 63
Rank: 123481


  1. Tropic of Anodyne
  2. Dear Future Loser
  3. You Always Get What You Deserve
  4. I Was a Distant Star
  5. Seven Faded Dreams
  6. If and Only If
  7. Hanging Melody
  8. As the Sun Sets

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews