Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3, Solo Piano Works

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3, Solo Piano Works

by Arcadi Volodos


View All Available Formats & Editions


If you want to grab someone's attention, whisper. Arcadi Volodos takes this adage to heart and proves its truth in his breathtaking live performance of Rachmaninov's Third Piano Concerto. "Rach Three," as it's affectionately known to pianists and pianophiles, has fared extremely well in recordings. Vladimir Horowitz gave us the first recording back in 1930, when the concerto was thought to be something of a dud. (Imagine!) Ten years later the composer left his own incomparable interpretation for posterity (recently reissued on a budget-priced Naxos CD, and distinguished versions by keyboard giants from Martha Argerich to Van Cliburn have subsequently graced the catalogue. Volodos is eminently worthy to join such august company; indeed, this recording is among the best ever. Unlike pianists who pounce on every opportunity to flaunt their big sound and powerful chops, the young Russian virtuoso employs a much subtler approach. He spins the melodies out in long, elegantly flowing lines, gathering together what sound like zillions of notes into larger shapes and propelling them gracefully yet inexorably toward the climaxes. It's quite unlike, say, Argerich's high-voltage account, yet the shimmering clarity of Volodos's playing -- whether in a ravishing pianissimo or at a sonorous peak -- makes an equally electrifying effect. James Levine and the Berlin Philharmonic offer some ravishingly soft and subtle playing themselves, although at times the conductor seems to want to linger on certain phrases more than the soloist does. Six solo works comprise a substantial and unusually gratifying encore set, bypassing the old warhorses for some less familiar and mostly melancholy fare, including the pianist's hypnotic transcription of the slow movement of Rachmaninov's Cello Sonata. Everything on this CD makes it clear that Volodos is the real thing: a romantic-style, velvet-fingered virtuoso with both sense and sensibility.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/26/2000
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646438428
catalogNumber: 64384


  1. Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30  - Sergey Rachmaninov  -  Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra  - James Levine  - Roxanne Slimak  - Arcadi Volodos
  2. Sonata for Cello and Piano in G minor, Op. 19: Andante  - Sergey Rachmaninov  - Roxanne Slimak  - Arcadi Volodos
  3. Morceaux de fantaisie (5), for piano, Op. 3  - Sergey Rachmaninov  - Roxanne Slimak  - Arcadi Volodos
  4. Morceaux de salon, for piano, Op. 10  - Sergey Rachmaninov  - Roxanne Slimak  - Arcadi Volodos
  5. Prelude for piano No.17 in F minor, Op. 32/6  - Sergey Rachmaninov  - Roxanne Slimak  - Arcadi Volodos
  6. Pieces (3) for piano, TN ii/19: Prelude in D minor  - Sergey Rachmaninov  - Roxanne Slimak  - Arcadi Volodos
  7. Etudes-Tableaux, for piano, Op. 33: No. 6 (9) in C sharp minor  - Sergey Rachmaninov  - Roxanne Slimak  - Arcadi Volodos

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 3, Solo Piano Works 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Two superb piano role recoveries by Wayne Stahnke, has elevated pianist Rachmaninoff to the highest level in the Pantheon of pianistic giants. These outstanding Telarc CD's may inspire some but will certainly nip the talents of most in the bud.