by Tony Parenti


$13.89 $15.99 Save 13% Current price is $13.89, Original price is $15.99. You Save 13%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.



In January 1949, clarinetist Tony Parenti, pianist Ralph Sutton, and drummer George Wettling recorded six rags, including the clarinetist's "Crawfish Crawl." Considering that ragtime had been considered virtually dead for over 30 years and, other than "Maple Leaf Rag," its pieces had largely gone unexplored since then, this was an important session. The music is not all written out as would be the case with classic ragtime, and to an extent the musicians jam a bit, but always keep the themes and tight structure in mind. In reissuing this music, it was decided to record a similar date in 2002, with clarinetist Evan Christopher, pianist Jeff Barnhart, and drummer Hal Smith performing nine more rags (all obscurities other than Joplin's "Heliotrope Bouquet"). Other than the improved recording quality, the music is very similar to the Parenti date, making this set a delight to fans of both ragtime and New Orleans jazz.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/06/2002
Label: Jazzology
UPC: 0762247607229
catalogNumber: 72
Rank: 190354


  1. Cataract Rag
  2. Entertainers Rag
  3. The Lily Rag
  4. Redhead Rag
  5. Crawfish Crawl
  6. Nonsense Rag
  7. Rubber Plant Rag
  8. Bohemia
  9. Heliotrope Bouquet
  10. Doc Brown's Cakewalk
  11. Sunburst Rag
  12. Pastime #5
  13. Just Ask Me
  14. Sponge
  15. Temptation Rag

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews