Ramona Blue

Ramona Blue

by Julie Murphy

Hardcover

$16.19 $17.99 Save 10% Current price is $16.19, Original price is $17.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, September 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Ramona Blue by Julie Murphy

From Julie Murphy, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’ and Side Effects May Vary, comes another fearless heroine, Ramona Blue, in a gorgeously evocative novel about family, friendship, and how sometimes love can be more fluid than you first think. Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Morgan Matson.

Ramona was only five years old when Hurricane Katrina changed her life forever.

Since then, it’s been Ramona and her family against the world. Standing over six feet tall with unmistakable blue hair, Ramona is sure of three things: she likes girls, she’s fiercely devoted to her family, and she knows she’s destined for something bigger than the trailer she calls home in Eulogy, Mississippi.

But juggling multiple jobs, her flaky mom, and her well-meaning but ineffectual dad forces her to be the adult of the family. Now, with her sister, Hattie, pregnant, responsibility weighs more heavily than ever.

The return of her childhood friend Freddie brings a welcome distraction. Ramona’s friendship with the former competitive swimmer picks up exactly where it left off, and soon he’s talked her into joining him for laps at the pool.

But as Ramona falls in love with swimming, her feelings for Freddie begin to shift too, which is the last thing she expected. With her growing affection for Freddie making her question her sexual identity, Ramona begins to wonder if perhaps she likes girls and guys or if this new attraction is just a fluke.

Either way, Ramona will discover that, for her, life and love are more fluid than they seem.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062418357
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/09/2017
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 199,748
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile: HL780L (what's this?)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Julie Murphy is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’, Puddin', Ramona Blue, and Side Effects May Vary. She lives in North Texas with her husband who loves her, her dog who adores her, and her cats who tolerate her. When she’s not writing, she can be found reading, traveling, or hunting down the perfect slice of pizza. Before writing full time, she held numerous jobs, such as wedding dress consultant, failed barista, and, ultimately, librarian. Learn more about her at www.juliemurphywrites.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ramona Blue 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous 21 days ago
I wish this book would never end. Ramona and Hattie go through situations that I could relate too. It helped me feel at peace with my own life knowing I wasnt alone.
JLAustin 3 months ago
I enjoyed this story of a girl not only finding her place in the world but also exploring her sexuality and figuring out who she is in a world that requires labels. The idea that you're not "good enough" of an identity if you aren't x, y, or z is problematic and I love how Murphy explores the finding of Ramona's inner self without the idea that there is a right or wrong answer, or even a defined answer. I'd like to think as we all grow and change, even in adulthood, we find more parts of ourselves and never stop figuring out who we are. These are important themes for teens to explore for themselves.
Anonymous 11 months ago
I'm in my 40s but this "coming of age" novel, made me happily nostalgic. Excellent characters and great writing.
Anonymous 12 months ago
Julie ' s writing is so smooth as always and I couldn't put it down. The characters are so loveable and relatable!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dis is amazing read loved it
EllenRozek More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this. My favorite Julie Murphy book to date, hands down.
AReadingRedSox More than 1 year ago
A beautiful, triumphant story about family, sexuality, and love. Julie Murphy is a master of contemporary fiction, and her latest hit all of the right notes. Absolutely fantastic. See more reviews at my blog! http://areadingredsox.blogspot.com
Aditi-ATWAMB More than 1 year ago
Actual Rating: 2.75 Stars ~ 3 stars I read Julie Murphy’s Dumplin over a year and a half ago, and I fell in love with Willowdean and her world. It was also my first review copy from an Indian publisher, and it will always hold a special place in my heart. Which is why I had HUGE expectations for Ramona Blue, and it was one of the first book I started reading from my TBR that suddenly seems to have multiplied itself threefold. The first two thirds of Ramona Blue was slow, to say the least. I like the message that the story was trying to convey but through the course of 400 pages, I struggled and I mean I really struggled to connect with all the characters. I found myself bargaining in my head, how about just 50 more pages now? Well, come on, you can do 50 more and so on and the end result is that I simply didn’t enjoy it. Let’s do a list of what I liked and didn’t: 1. THE FLUID SEXUALITY: It was one of the highlights of this book for me. I love that no matter what, there were no labels being thrown around after Ramona noticed that she liked Freddie (apart from girls) romantically too. Being put under a label wasn’t a part of, or even a little bit, of what Ramona Blue was about and I absolutely love that. 2. THE SWIMMNIG: I’m a swimmer. I used to do it competitively and although I gave that up a while ago, I know what it feels like when Ramona says that any workout feels only like the beginning. I love the water and I love that swimming was FINALLY incorporated in a Young Adult book is a serious way. Things That Could Have Better: 1. THE PACE: Honestly, this book was SO SO SLOW. It has 430 pages of “self-discovery” but so much of it was filler. Like I said in the beginning, I kept bargaining with myself to read a few more pages, and eventually made it to the end. Even the part where Ramona “realises” after 300 pages of being dead against it, to leave her home and pregnant sister and go to college is because her sister spites her and chooses to have her boyfriend in the OR instead of Ramona. It all felt so subpar. 2. THE CHARACTERS: Like I said, it was SUCH A STRUGGLE for me to connect with ANY of the characters. All of them felt like underdeveloped secondary characters and I didn’t feel anything for any of them. Occasionally, there was a fun scene like the time where everyone meets Adam’s parents but AAH I just couldn’t with any of them. I love what this book stood for, I like the idea behind this book and I LOVE THE FACT THAT SEXUALITY WAS FINALLY PORTRAYED AS SOMETHING THAT COULD BE FLUID but that was all. Everything else about this book was subpar and I can only wish that I had connected with the characters.
Taylor_FrayedBooks More than 1 year ago
This book was quite a surprise to me and I found myself really connecting with the characters. It is about a girl who's been affected by Hurricane Katrina. There are also LGBT themes in it, which is the main reason I picked up this read. I found it to be very real and it is truly a contemporary because of the elements involved. One thing that confused me a little was Ramona's admission to liking girls, who then starts to fall for a guy: that would make me believe that she is probably bisexual and it came off a little bit like the guy was 'turning her straight'. But, all in all, it was a great read and I would recommend it!
Take_Me_AwayPH More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure what to say about this one besides thefact that I loved it. I wanted to say something so much more profoud, but this is one of those cases where I don't feel my words would be adequate. Ramona thought she hadher lie all figured out:help out at hom, help her pregnant sister, and srnd tie with her friends from work. But then one day she sees an old friend has come back to Euology, Mississippi and shows her all she thought he kneww is morefluid than she thought. I've read all Murphy's books, but this one is my favorite by far. It felt so real, like I was watching this real life situation play out in front of my own eyes. It never really felt like it had a plot, but that was the magic of it. There was a real-life like feel to it. Showing Ramona live day to day, which is how life really is. (I feel like I'm rambling but I told y'all I couldn't do this justice.) I also really loved the characters. I was a bit annoyed with Ramona because she wanted to put everyone before herself most o the time, but I realized that I'm that way too. I will ask other people if they need something first before taking care of me and then realizing that no one has asked me if I'm ok or I need anything. I could totally see where she was coming from. I also really love the way Julie Murphy handled bisexuality. It was refreshing to read something on it and I was glad she handled it in such a manner. I could have used this book as a teen when I was questioning my own orientation. I can't wait to see what this book does for teens later on. This book is one that I can see myself reading and recommending over and over. I flew through this book and immediately wanted to recrack it open. I can't wait to see what else Murphy has in store for us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Funny and heart-wrenching at times, and a sensitive portrayal of how discovering your sexual identity can be an ongoing process. So good!
ContemporaryReader85 More than 1 year ago
Unique and full of heart – not that I expected less from Julie Murphy. As blue-haired, six-foot-tall Ramona learns to live her life out loud, so will you. A must read!
book_junkee More than 1 year ago
I loved Dumplin', so I was pretty much all in when I saw Julie's name on it. I loved Ramona and her group of friends. They're all so loyal to each other and I truly enjoyed seeing their dynamic. Of course Freddie was adorable and his relationship with Ramona was sweet and frustrating. As for Ramona herself, I adored her tenacity and loved seeing her grow and find out who she was. Some of the conversations in this book were beyond fantastic and absolutely needed. For me, they were the highlight of the story. I would have liked a little more at ending, but it was still quite satisfying. This book is going to be important to a lot of people. **Huge thanks to Balzer+Bray for providing the arc free of charge**