Rare Radio Transcriptions

Rare Radio Transcriptions

by Nat King Cole & His TrioNat King Cole & His Trio


$28.92 $28.99 Save 0% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $28.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Although Nat King Cole is chiefly remembered for his intimate vocal work on orchestrated ballads like "Unforgettable" and "Mona Lisa" (he cut an astounding 1,600 sides in his career), he was also a gifted bandleader, arranger, and pianist and his early work with the drummer-less King Cole Trio will be a revelation for listeners only familiar with the vocal hits that came later. Working with sympathetic guitarist Oscar Moore and bassists Wesley Prince (early) and Johnny Miller (later), Cole set a standard for easy, intimate versatility, and his trio could stop, start, and swing on a dime. This four-disc, 106-track of rare radio recordings done for the Standard Transcription Library between 1939 and 1945 finds the trio doing a little bit of everything, from novelty numbers, standards, and Cole originals to backing other singers like Anita Boyer, Ida James, Anita O'Day, and the Barrie Sisters, and it's all delightfully immediate and intimate. Early on the trio sing numbers in unison, but as things proceed on this chronological set, Cole's warm vocals begin to take center stage, and one can actually see his later persona as a singer form and take hold. That evolution ultimately led to the trio's demise, but not before they gave the world a whole lot of excellent performances, 106 of which are preserved here.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/23/2010
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065906320
catalogNumber: 963
Rank: 123171


Disc 1

  1. Mutiny In the Nursery
  2. F.D.R. Jones
  3. The Sheik of Araby
  4. The Blue Danube
  5. Jingle Bells
  6. Swannee River
  7. Don't Blame Me
  8. Dark Rapture
  9. Blue Skies
  10. Three Blind Mice
  11. Caravan
  12. There's No Anesthetic For Love
  13. The Land of Make Believe
  14. Dancing In the Street
  15. 'Tain't What You Do (It's the Way That'cha Do It)
  16. Riffin' In F Minor
  17. Honey
  18. Russian Lullaby
  19. Snug As a Bug In a Rug
  20. The Limp
  21. Some Like It Hot
  22. Liebestraum
  23. I Like To Riff
  24. Crazy Rhythm
  25. Sweet Lorraine

Disc 2

  1. You're My Life
  2. Trompin'
  3. Black Spider Stomp
  4. Scategoria
  5. Rhythm Serenade
  6. Rib Town Shuffle
  7. Music'll Chase Your Blues Away
  8. King Cole Blues
  9. Honey Hush
  10. Vine Street Jump
  11. You Send Me
  12. Pogo Stick Bounce
  13. Jam Man
  14. Fudge Wudge
  15. Smokey Joe
  16. Windy City Boogie Woogie
  17. Gone With the Draft
  18. This Side Up
  19. This Will Make You Laugh
  20. Do Nothin' till You Hear From Me
  21. The Old Music Master
  22. After You've Gone
  23. Is You is or is You Ain't My Baby?
  24. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  25. Shoo Shoo Baby
  26. Miss Thing

Disc 3

  1. Close To You
  2. Rhythm Sam
  3. On the Sunny Side of the Street
  4. Little Joe From Chicago
  5. (Back Home Again In) Indiana
  6. Don't Take Your Love From Me
  7. No Love, No Nothin'
  8. Shoo Shoo Baby
  9. My Heart Tells Me
  10. Harem Sandman
  11. Speak Low
  12. Them There Eyes
  13. Mexico Joe
  14. Lester Leaps In
  15. Just Another Blues
  16. Wild Goose Chase
  17. Besame Mucho
  18. Please Consider Me
  19. That'll Just About Knock Me Out
  20. You Must Be Blind
  21. Too Marvelous For Words
  22. I Realize Now
  23. I May Be Wrong (But I Think You're Wonderful)
  24. These Foolish Things
  25. Rosetta
  26. The Man I Love
  27. I'm In the Mood For Love

Disc 4

  1. D-Day
  2. Don't Blame Me
  3. You're So Different
  4. Sweet Georgia Brown
  5. Wouldn't You Like To Know
  6. Barcarolle
  7. I Thought You Ought To Know
  8. Bring Another Drink
  9. It Only Happens Once
  10. Baby (We Could Have a Lot of Fun)
  11. Swingin' the Blues
  12. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
  13. Boogie a La King
  14. Someone's In the Kitchen With Dinah
  15. Body and Soul
  16. How High the Moon
  17. I Got Rhythm
  18. Sweet Lorraine
  19. Laura
  20. Keep Knockin' On Wood
  21. If Yesterday Could Only Be Tomorrow
  22. Ain't Misbehavin'
  23. Penthouse Serenade (When We're Alone)
  24. Rosetta
  25. It's Only a Paper Moon
  26. (What Can I Say) After I Say I'm Sorry?
  27. I Wanna Turn Out My Light
  28. You Call It Madness (But I Call It Love)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nat King Cole & His Trio   Primary Artist
Oscar Moore   Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Anita O'Day   Vocals
Juanelda Carter   Vocals
Nat King Cole   Piano,Celeste,Vocals
Bonnie Lake   Vocals
Johnny Miller   Bass
Wesley Prince   Bass,Vocals
Anita Boyer   Vocals
Pauline Byrns   Vocals
Vince Degan   Vocals
Mack MacLean   Vocals
Ida James   Vocals
Bill Seckler   Vocals
Dreamers   Vocals
Howard Hudson   Vocals
Barrie Sisters   Vocals
Pauline and Her Perils   Vocals

Technical Credits

Irving Berlin   Composer
Berlin   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Fats Waller   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Andy Razaf   Composer
Juanelda Carter   Duet
Henry Creamer   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
E.Y. "Yip" Harburg   Composer
Turner Layton   Composer
Mitchell Parish   Composer
Athan Maroulis   Liner Notes
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Clifford R. Burwell   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Marvell   Composer
Belloc   Composer
Skylar   Composer
Gifford   Composer
Raksin   Composer
James Pierpont   Composer
Dramin   Composer

Customer Reviews