by Indigo Girls


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



As the title of this 18-track set indicates, the Indigo Girls worked themselves into an archive-emptying mood in recent months -- which might have something to do with their decision to leave their longtime home base at Epic Records. Unlike many such odds-and-sods sets, however, most of Rarities deserves to be rescued from obscurity, particularly a handful of covers that bear out the duo's remarkably broad musical aesthetic. Amy Ray's punk standard bearing, for instance, cuts sharply through a take on the Clash's "Working for the Clampdown," while Emily Saliers' more earth mother–esque tenor buoys a version of the Grateful Dead's "Uncle John's Band." Naturally, given the pair's coffeehouse roots, there's a side trip into Woody Guthrie territory -- in the form of "Ramblin' Round," which features guest vocals by Ani DiFranco. Georgia homeboy Michael Stipe shows up as well, on the eerie "I'll Give You My Skin." While a good number of the material on Rarities' has been previously released in some form, the disc also offers up a few goodies that even diehards might not be familiar with, including Saliers' solo performance of a Shaming of the Sun–era ballad entitled "Winthrop" and the extended, Appalachian-flavored harmony-fest "Finlandia." Beautifully packaged and carefully compiled, Rarities seems like a thank-you gift to fans who have followed the Girls for the better part of two decades.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/14/2005
Label: Sony
UPC: 0827969444221
catalogNumber: 94442

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Indigo Girls   Primary Artist
Sam Bush   Mandolin
Chris Hickey   Vocals,Background Vocals
Frank French   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Scarlet Rivera   Violin
Ani DiFranco   Guitar,Vocals
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Sheila Doyle   Violin
Josh Freese   Drums
Carol Isaacs   Bass,Accordion,Keyboards
Claire Kenny   Bass,Bass Guitar
LuAnn Kirsch   Vocals
Randell Kirsch   Percussion,Vocals,Acoustic Bass
Chuck Leavell   Piano
Michael Lorant   Drums,Vocals
Barbara J. Marino   Percussion
Jerry Marotta   Percussion,Drums
Don McCollister   Bass,Percussion
Dan McNamara   Percussion,Conga
Tom Morello   Bass,Guitar,Drums,Bass Guitar
Amy Ray   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
Emily Saliers   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Simone Simonton   Drums
Michael Stipe   Trumpet,Vocals
Bill Taft   Banjo,Cornet
De Vogt   Vocals
Michelle Martin   Vocals
Rev. Brady Blade   Drums
Sara Lee   Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals,Penny Whistle
Chris Verene   Drums
Dave Edwards   Bass
Karen Chance   Penny Whistle
Michael Larant   Percussion,Drums
Chuck Lavelle   Piano
Dave Edwards   Bass Guitar
Dan McNamara   Percussion,Conga
LuAnn Kirsch   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Indigo Girls   Audio Production
Peter Collins   Producer,Audio Production
Frank French   Producer,Engineer
Nick DiDia   Engineer
John Keane   Engineer
David Leonard   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Don McCollister   Producer,Engineer
Tom Morello   Producer,Remixing
Clif Norrell   Engineer
Amy Ray   Liner Notes
John Reynolds   Producer,Engineer
Emily Saliers   Liner Notes
Ralph Sall   Producer,Audio Production
De Vogt   Engineer
Dave Cooley   Remixing,Instrumentation
Eddie Miller   Engineer
Sheri G. Lee   Art Direction
Tim Oliver   Engineer
Glenn Matullo   Engineer
Andrew Gilchrist   Engineer
Russell Carter   Management
Holly Crenshaw   Producer
Matt Miley   Engineer
John Reynolds   Audio Production

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews