Ravel: L'Enfant et les Sortileges; Ma Mère l'Oye - Complete Ballet

Ravel: L'Enfant et les Sortileges; Ma Mère l'Oye - Complete Ballet

by Leonard Slatkin


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25  Order now and choose Expedited Shipping during checkout.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/09/2015
Label: Naxos
UPC: 0730099033671
catalogNumber: 8660336
Rank: 13786


  1. L'enfant et les sortilèges, opera-ballet in 2 parts

    1. J'ai pas envie de faire ma page (I don't want to do my schoolwork)  (02:17)
    2. Bébé a été sage? Il a fini sa page? (Has Baby been Good? has he finished his work?)  (01:13)
    3. Ca m'est égal! Ca m'est égal! (I don't care! I don't care!)  (01:11)
    4. Votre serviteur humble, Bergère (Your humble servant, Chair)  (01:47)
    5. Ding, ding, ding, ding  (01:32)
    6. How's your mug?  (00:50)
    7. Keng-ça-fou, Mah-jong (Keng-ça-fou, Mah-jong)  (01:39)
    8. Oh! ma belle tasse chinoise! (Oh! My lovely Chinese cup!)  (00:40)
    9. Arrière! je réchauffe les bons (get back! I warm the good)  (02:43)
    10. Adieu, pastourelles (farewell, shepherdesses)  (03:14)
    11. Ah! c'est Elle! c'est Elle! (Ah! it is her! it is her!)  (05:11)
    12. Toi, le cœur de la rose (You, the heart of the rose)  (01:39)
    13. Deux robinets coulent dans un réservoir! (Two taps flow into a tank!)  (01:49)
    14. Oh! ma tête! ma tête! (Oh! My head! My head!)  (01:11)
    15. Mi-in-hou, Môr-nâ-ou (Miaow, Miaow)  (01:29)
    16. Hinhon, hinhon - Cô-âc  (01:28)
    17. Ah! quelle joie de te retrouver, Jardin! (Ah! How glad I am to see you again, garden!)  (01:40)
    18. Où es-tu? j te cherche (Where are you? I am looking for you)  (01:43)
    19. Rends-la-moi! (Give her back to me!)  (00:40)
    20. Danse des Rainettes (Dance of the Frogs)  (02:11)
    21. Sauve-toi, sotte! Et la cargo> La cage? (Keep away, fool! And the cage> The cage?)  (00:49)
    22. la cage, c'était pour mieux voir ta prestesse (the cage was to see your quickness better)  (01:53)
    23. Ah! c'est l'Enfant au couteau! (Ah! It's the child with the knife!)  (00:38)
    24. If a pansé la plaie (He has bandaged the wound)  (02:25)
    25. Il est bon, l'Enfant, il est sage (He's good, the Child is good)  (02:42)
  2. Ma mère l'oye, ballet for orchestra

    1. Prélude  (03:23)
    2. Tableau I. Danse du rouet et Scène (Dance of the Spinning Wheel and Scene)  (03:22)
    3. Tableau II.Pavane de la Belle au bois dormant (Pavane of Sleeping Beauty)  (02:33)
    4. Tableau III. Les Entretiens de la Belle et de la Bête (Conservations between Beauty and the Beast)  (04:47)
    5. Tableau IV. petit Poucet (Hop-o'-my-Thumb)  (04:34)
    6. Tableau V. Laideronette, impératrice des Pagodes (Little Ugly, Empress of the Pagodas)  (04:50)
    7. Apothéose, Le Jardin féerique (the Fairy Garden)  (03:34)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Ravel: L'Enfant et les Sortileges; Ma Mère l'Oye - Complete Ballet 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
lollidamaAC More than 1 year ago
Ravel’s second go at opera, L’Enfant et les sortileges (The Child and the Enchanted Things) clocks in at a compact 45 minutes. Its quirky libretto centers on a surly child who is ultimately transformed through encounters with various animals and inanimate objects magically brought to life. Reputedly, the Broadway musical template of the era may have served as something of a structural model. The composer employs a large orchestra complete with exotic percussion and extensive wind and brass sections. In addition, there are 8 soloists, mixed choir and children’s choir. While there are several instances of genius, this is not Ravel at his greatest. That said, Maestro Slatkin’s affection for and understanding of the music is clearly evident in every bar. The singers are uniformly strong as are the 2 choirs. This version is a good one and complements the classic recordings by Bour, Maazel and Previn. Ma Mere L’Oye (Mother Goose), presented here in its complete ballet edition, is beautifully shaped and paced by Maestro Slatkin. Orchestre National de Lyon offers playing of the greatest subtlety and refinement. Throughout the disc, the lustrous sonics are detailed and three dimensional. Balance and dynamics are naturally rendered.