by Raydience


Item is available through our marketplace sellers.



Less a permanent group than a recording project, jazz ensemble Raydience are the brainchild of guitarist/singer Ronnie Ray Padilla, the composer of all the songs on this self-titled debut album and the only musician heard playing on all ten tracks. Padilla's most frequent partners are keyboardist Eric Levy, bassist Kai Eckhardt, and drummer Billy Johnson, each of whom appears on eight tracks, that is, every one except the acoustic "Arcenio's Garden" and the Brazilian "Bahian Smiles." Padilla's conception for Raydience is broad and inclusive; he establishes his desire to travel the world musically on the first tune, "Zambula," which begins in a South African style before moving to West Africa, the mbaqanga guitar playing giving way to juju rhythm work and dense polyrhythms over seven and a half minutes. South America is touched on not only in "Bahian Smiles" but also in "Angelica," with its gentle rhythm supporting a soprano sax line by George Brooks shadowed by Padilla's guitar. Despite his affection for the many variants of world music, Padilla also shows a knowledge of 1970s-style American jazz fusion, and he even throws in a couple of vocal numbers in a contemporary jazz vein. It's an eclectic mixture that seems to have something for everyone, or at least for the more adventurous of jazz fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/26/2010
Label: Megawave Records
UPC: 0603408003323
catalogNumber: 332

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Raydience   Primary Artist
Fareed Haque   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Kenneth Nash   Percussion,Bongos,Conga,Sounds
Rasaki Aladokun   Percussion,talking drum
Celso Alberti   Percussion,Drums
Vernon "Ice" Black   Rhythm Guitar
George Brooks   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Mic Gillette   Trombone,Trumpet,Piccolo Trumpet
Paul Hanson   Bassoon
Eric Levy   Keyboards
Billy Johnson   Drums
Claudia Villela   Vocals
Alan Hertz   Overdubs
Gary Brown   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Kai Eckhardt   Bass
Salar Nader   Tabla
Tom Size   Overdubs
Billy "Shoes" Johnson   Drums
Frank Martin   Synthesizer,Keyboards,Soloist
Andrea Vecchione   Vocals
Amber Hindz   Vocals
Caroluna Michealson   Voices
Danjuma Adamo   Electric Guitar
Celso Aberti   Overdubs
Brad Bellkamp   Overdubs
Doyal Johnson   Overdubs
Julia Freshwater   Vocals
Ronnie Ray Padilla   Acoustic Guitar,Flute,Alto Flute,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Overdubs,Sounds,Soloist,Native American Flute
Marquinio Brazil   Dumbek,Percussion,Bells,Sounds
Billy Johnson   Drums

Technical Credits

Celso Alberti   Producer,drum programming
Mic Gillette   Horn Arrangements
Eric Levy   Arranger,Producer
Claudia Villela   Producer
Tom Size   Overdub Producer
John Palmer   Layout
Anita Joseph   Composer,Lyricist
Eostar Kamala   Cover Photo
Don Cardoza   Back Cover Photo
Will Evankovich   Producer,Vocal Overdubs
Ronnie Ray Padilla   Arranger,Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews