Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Real Christianity

Real Christianity

by William Wilberforce, Bob Beltz (Editor)
Real Christianity

Real Christianity

by William Wilberforce, Bob Beltz (Editor)

eBook

$11.49 $15.00 Save 23% Current price is $11.49, Original price is $15. You Save 23%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Just in time for the release of Amazing Grace, the movie about the life of William Wilberforce. This edition of his classic book from 1797, Real Christianity, is paraphrased in modern language and made more accessible to contemporary readers. This is the book that helped abolish the slave trade in the United Kingdom and called Christians to live a more authentic life of faith more than two hundred years ago. The timeless truths it contains will speak to readers in fresh ways today. Christians who eschew cultural Christianity in favor of a real faith in Christ, will find the principles here thought-provoking and applicable. The social justice orientation will appeal to readers of Jim Wallis, Os Guinness, Charles Colson, Shane Claiborne, John Perkins, Bono, and Nancy Pearcey. Readers will also find the book is a good litmus test of the authenticity of their own faith.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781441267566
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group
Publication date: 12/19/2006
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Pages: 204
Sales rank: 649,418
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

BOB BELTZ is a popular writer, speaker, and film producer. Currently he oversees film development for the Anschutz Film Group, parent company of Walden Media (Holes, Because of Winn-Dixie, The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe, and Amazing Grace). He is a graduate of Denver Seminary where he earned both his master of arts and doctor of ministry degrees. He is the author of several books, including Somewhere Fast and Becoming a Man of Prayer.

William Wilberforce (1759-1833) was an English politician and a leader of the movement to abolish the slave trade. At the age of 26 he underwent a conversion experience and became an evangelical Christian, which resulted in a lifelong concern for reform. He headed the parliamentary campaign against the British slave trade for many years until the passage of the Slave Trade Act of 1807, which abolished the slave trade in the British Empire but did not abolish slavery itself. In later years, Wilberforce supported the campaign for the complete abolition of slavery. He died shortly after the Slavery Abolition Act of 1833 passed through the House of Commons, freeing all slaves in the British Empire. He was buried in Westminster Abbey.

Customer Reviews