Reanimators

Reanimators

by Pete Rawlik

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $14.99 Save 30% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 30%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
Want a NOOK ? Explore Now

Overview

Reanimators by Pete Rawlik

Two Men. A Bitter Rivalry. And a Quarter-Century of Unspeakable Horrors. Herbert West's crimes against nature are well-known to those familiar with the darkest secrets of science and resurrection. Obsessed with finding a cure for mankind's oldest malady, death itself, he has experimented upon the living and dead, leaving behind a trail of monsters, mayhem, and madness. But the story of his greatest rival has never been told.Until now. Dr. Stuart Hartwell, a colleague and contemporary of West, sets out to destroy West by uncovering the secrets of his terrible experiments, only to become that which he initially despised: a reanimator of the dead. For more than twenty years, spanning the early decades of the twentieth century, the two scientists race each other to master the mysteries of life . . . and unlife. From the grisly battlefields of the Great War to the backwoods hills and haunted coasts of Dunwich and Innsmouth, from the halls of fabled Miskatonic University to the sinking of the Titanic, their unholy quests will leave their mark upon the world—and create monsters of them both. Reanimators is an epic tale of historical horror . . . in the tradition of Anno Dracula and The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781597804790
Publisher: Night Shade Books
Publication date: 08/27/2013
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 280
Sales rank: 721,217
File size: 875 KB

About the Author

Five years ago when my wife shamed me into picking up my pen again, one of the first things I started writing was a mash up novel of Lovecraftian characters, and I really wanted Herbert West to be part of that team. Unfortunately, I'm a stickler for established chronologies, and no matter how hard I tried I couldn't tell the story I wanted to tell with West in it. Enter Dr. Stuart Hartwell. He was the perfect solution, he had all of West's skills, but his timeline was mine to play with. But, I didn't know who he was, or what motivated him. So I wrote a story about him, and another, and then another. Quickly the mash up novel was set aside and all my time was spent focused on Hartwell. Those stories became the novel Reanimators. Now, just a year later that mash up novel I wanted to work on. The one that was called at various times The League of Lovecraftian Gentlemen, The Miskatonic Club, The Miskatonic Men's Aide Society, The Arkham Oddfellowes - well that became The Weird Company and that hits the streets in September. Hartwell is back, but this time he's not alone, he and his cohort have been recruited by . . . Well you'll just have to read the book now won't you. This is the book I wanted to write from the start, and if you liked Reanimators, you will adore The Weird Company.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Reanimators 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Started out pretty good but about a third of the way through it seemed to loose direction and went down hill from there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago