by Mary Christner Borntrager

Paperback(New Edition,New)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Rebecca Eash is just as spirited as her mother Ellie, who readers grew to love in Book 1 of Ellie’s People: An Amish Family Saga. Becky works for another Amish family and spends time with her Mennonite friend, Susan Miller. Her gentle days in the 1950s are filled with laundry and canning, barn-raisings, a taffy pull, and quilting bees. But as Susan’s brother, James, shows an interest in Becky and their relationship deepens, she becomes embroiled in conflict with her parents, Ellie and David, and the deacon, who don’t want to her to marry a Mennonite boy. When James joins the Amish church and they begin planning for their future, everything appears to be working out after all. But then James has a dream from God that he can’t ignore, and Becky is faced with the most difficult decision of her life.

Book 2 of the Ellie’s People: An Amish Family Saga series. Ages 10 and up.

Read the Amish novels that Amish people themselves read. Long before Beverly Lewis wrote The Shunningthe Ellie’s People series was beloved by young and old readers in Amish and Mennonite communities. Fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie series will love learning to know the spunky heroines and old-fashioned communities of the Ellie’s People series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780836135008
Publisher: MennoMedia
Publication date: 10/01/2014
Series: Ellie's People Series , #2
Edition description: New Edition,New
Pages: 234
Sales rank: 691,763
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range: 10 - 18 Years

About the Author

Mary Christner Borntrager was born to Amish parents near Plain City, Ohio. Her Ellie’s People series is based on her childhood and youth among the Amish. The books bring authentic Amish stories to life for readers interested in Amish fiction and also real depictions of Amish life. Her Ellie’s People novels have sold more than half a million copies and are treasured classics among the Amish and Mennonites.

Table of Contents

1. The Powwow Question
2. A Dating Decision
3. With the Mennonite Youths
4. Harvest and Hope
5. The Thunderstorm
6. Rivals at the Barn Raising
7. A Box Social
8. Amish Standards
9. Worldly Temptations
10. A Wild Ride
11. Taffy Pull and Singing
12. The Diary
13. Home Cures
14. Out for Ice Cream
15. Becoming Amish
16. Our People
17. A Farm Visit
18. The Dream
19. Changing Church Membership
20. Engaged
21. Becky's Wedding
22. The Dream Unfolds

Pennsylvania Dutch Glossary
Rebecca's Family Tree
Excerpt from Rachel
The Author

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

“The authentic series has much to offer readers about the ups and downs of growing up plain. A great choice for a family read-aloud.”

—Suzanne Woods Fisher, coauthor of The Adventures of Lily Lapp series

Customer Reviews